0 items
New Products
Restocked
Pre-Order Products
GI Shockers

Manufacturers

CQB Spotlight Field Spotlight Sniper Spotlight
ARES Full Metal M4A1 AEG Airsoft Gun
[06791 / AEG-17]
$249.95
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
by C. RATLIFF verified buyer Date Added: Tuesday 20 November, 2012
verified buyer
For: ARES Full Metal M4A1 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
This gun is fantastic. I have owned 3 of these for over 2 years, had to rewire one of them, no problems with the other two. Wiring just turned out to be pinched in one. I fixed it myself in less than an hour. Note; I am mechanically inclined. I have use these in every battle since I bought them. This gun is all my team will use without exception. We dont have the money for the 500 dollar guns and I am glad we didn't waist money on them anyway. This gun is hands down the best m4 for your dollar that money can buy. I put off reviewing this gun because I wanted to pick up a few more before I reviewed it. "didn't want Airsoftgi to be out because of good reviews". Our team now has 6 of these and we refuse to buy any other m4 until these are simply not available. We had 7 and one of the members got in a bind and sold one for $300. He kicks himself for doing it because right now they are out of stock. I love the realistic feel, the crisp trigger pull, and the original styling (not into custom myself). The magazine is awesome (almost worth the price of the gun itself), and I can't live without the accuracy, firepower, and dependability. For the money dont look at another gun this is the one you want. I have been leading an airsoft team in texas for about 3 years, this gun brought us into the winning circle 2 years ago. I hope Ares gets on the ball and keeps these on the shelf. Truly the best gun I have put my hands on. The weight is real close to our real stag m4s loaded. This gun is lighter than the KWA m4 and shoots much better than the SRC m4. Actually we are now using 2 of these as AEG snipers because of their accuracy, just ghillie up and get to work. Overall great gun, great price, not a single complaint. Even rewiring was a breeze. I have realized that no matter what you own you will have to work on it sometime, but these have truly been very low maintenance. We use an 8.4 1200mah and the ROF is plenty fast, and doesn't heat up the motor. Great gun, buy it. BTW I have no affiliation with ARES, I just really like this m4.

Pros:
Its Ares quality
fast ROF with 8.4V
very good for MILSIM
low maintenance
low cost
great weight
great trigger pull
great gun

Cons:
It costs money
I had to wait a few days for it to be delivered
It shoots BBs which cost money
I have not gotten a hit with every BB that has come out of the barrel
Really I cant complain at all about this gun, it has been good to me and my team
by M. NELSON Date Added: Monday 15 August, 2011
For: ARES Full Metal M4A1 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
i bought this gun awhile ago but never got around to reviewing it. this gun is well worth it cost because it has just under 400fps (which is just around the highest possible for aegs at most fields)
the metal body looks great and is extremely durable. i bought a mock silencer, innner barrel (6.03), a holo sight much like the one in the picture. my gun looks awesome!

Pros:
a little heavy but not too heavy
good rof
good fps
metal body
accurate


Cons:
came with mid cap
hard to get off orange tip
just get it....
by S. EARLEY verified buyer Date Added: Friday 14 January, 2011
verified buyer
For: ARES Full Metal M4A1 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
As listed in all the other reviews for this is gun it's pretty dam sweet! I have fun with this gun without even shooting it, I just pull back the bolt catch and then release it XD. Very realistic feel and look. I'm planning on upgrading to a MagPul MOE hand-guard soon because the standard hand-guard doesn't quite fit my style. But if you're wondering, I think that the plastic stock hand-guard looks good too. Not to mention the firm trigger squeeze, the upgraded parts in the gearbox make a satisfying feel while shooting. Decent ROF and good FPS so far. I haven't used this gun in a game yet, but I will soon. Everything works flawlessly, except for the front sight is a little crooked. I tried sighting it in and I had to put the rear peep hole all the way to the right side of the gun to even come close because it seemed it was shooting to the left. After further inspection I found that the barred and gun were working fine, the front site was just rotated to the right a little bit (still trying to figure out how to fix it). Now I'm think about getting some kind of optic that will work better. But I think that this problem was only with my gun. I'll post another Review sometime soon after I chrono it, and play in a game with it.

Also this gun came with a black flash hider, and an old-school midcap loader (get a speed loader). These aren't shown on airsoftgi.com but you can view them at airsoftpost.com

Pros:
Very realist weight, feel, and look.
Satisfying Bolt catch.
I've read other reviews that suggest it has a 6.03 IB.
Great Price.
Trigger squeeze is awesome.
Upgraded internals, and quick spring change.
I'll post the ROF and FPS in my next review...


Cons:
Front sight was mounted incorrectly.
Hand-Guard wobbles a little (I don't really care)
by S. MCPHERSON verified buyer Date Added: Saturday 18 December, 2010
verified buyer
For: ARES Full Metal M4A1 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
This is easily the most realistic airsoft gun I've ever owned. The metal construction gives a realistic weight and more durability than plastic. If you're going to complain about the weight, just stop, man up and lift some weights. I also enjoy repeatedly pulling the charging handle and then hitting the bolt catch, because it feels cool and the metal on metal collision is pretty cool too. The aesthetic quality of the gun is very high, and it functions just as well. Out of the box, gun is accurate and hard hitting. You can get a decent ROF out of it, and it is very easy to place your shots on both auto and semi auto. The included midcap magazine is well constructed and feeds well, but wobbles a bit too much for my liking. Some people said they got 2 mags with their gun, but only one was included with my package. That's OK though, because I want to buy some of the MagPul Pmags because they're sick. Besides the mag wobble, the rest of the gun has almost no wobble at all. The only problem that I have with this gun is that I don't like the stock hand guard. It seems a bit weak and it doesn't look like it could really take a fall. I plan on replacing it with a MagPul MOE handguard. All in all, this gun is pretty sick, I took out 12 of my friends with it in a lone wolf game, it was pretty cool, kind of like this gun, so if you like winning, get it.

Pros:
REALISM.
Solid aluminum construction.
Sweet internal build quality.
Nice Ares engraving.
Good out of the box, can't wait to upgrade.
I got a sweet ASGI tshirt with it.

Cons:
Not a huge fan of the stock hand guard.
Mag wobble.
by D. MCCLELLAN verified buyer Date Added: Friday 08 October, 2010
verified buyer
For: ARES Full Metal M4A1 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
This is by FAR my favorite airsoft gun I have ever purchased. ARES is still bringing in the top of the line guns and this is now my go to company for airsoft. The gun came stock (was expected) and shit near accurate out of the box. Both mags are top quality metal mid caps, and fed flawlessly. The only problem, was the sealed orange tip (still figuring out how to remove it the best way) and the iron sights were on the brink of not being able to be sighted in. Overall every piece of this gun was top quality EXCEPT the hand guard. I don't know why, but the hand-guard is extremely cheap looking plastic, but doesn't matter because it is getting replace by a rail soon enough.

Pros:
ROF
Mid caps
Metal quality
Internal quality
Performance

Cons:
Hand guard plastic
Orange tip (was a good quality, but hard to remove delicately)
by M. JENKINS verified buyer Date Added: Thursday 07 October, 2010
verified buyer
For: ARES Full Metal M4A1 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
I upgrade to this gun from a JG m4a1, and although they look similar from a distance, there is no real comparison. This gun blows my JG out of the water. The build quality is excellent, it feels very solid, and the metal looks amazing.
One thing that I do want to bring up is how amazing the trigger pull feels in comparison to other guns. I don't know how to describe it other than extremely crisp. It feels much less mechanical than with my other guns.
The ROF on this gun is about 75% more than JG, using identical batteries in each gun. I was able to INCREASE ROF by putting in an SP100 instead of the m120 that it comes with. I am using a 9.6 nunchuck.
The distance and accuracy of this gun also need to be noted. I haven't had to turn the hop up on. It is all the way down, and I am getting better distance than ANY other gun I have used, sans a bolt action sniper. Even with a weaker spring, the BB's travel farther than my JG.
One side note, I would NOT put any battery higher than a 9.6 in this gun, especially not a LiPo, because it does not have a fuse, and the ROF increase is marginal at best.
If you want an m4 without breaking the bank, this is the gun to buy.

Pros:
ROF
Trigger Response
Accuracy
Hop-up
Amazing build quality
Quick spring change,


Cons:
No Fuse!
by R. TOLOMEO verified buyer Date Added: Saturday 04 September, 2010
verified buyer
For: ARES Full Metal M4A1 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
The first thing i said when i took this out of the box was holy shit this think feels solid like a rock. and that statement was definatly proven in battle. this gun is dead on accurate due to the pretty good quality bucking and internals that it comes with it comes with a silicone blue translucent bucking you would never find a bucking of that quality in a jg guns jg buckings are made of crappy rubber that smells like rotten fish. these buckings allow for inconsistant rounds and misfeeds. the bucking that ares chose has very god airflow... the internals are a lot more beefy then the previous ares m4a1. out of the box in very high quality foam you would find a 130 round mid-cap mag, the gun itself and a black flash hider that's right a black flash hider! the handguards could house a 8.4 mini and a nun chuck of any voltage you chose. it is also li-poly ready but for ever reason does not come with a fuse assembly.. i have 2 minor problems with this gun, the pistol grip where the motor is housed gets pretty warm after 2 hours of play. the external realism and build quality of this gun is amazing... if you compare this gun with the real thing you would not be able to tell the difference besides the ares trademarks and orange flash hider that is if you have it on. another minor problem that i have with this gun is the hop up wheel is extremely loose. all and all for i gun of this caliber you gotta be crazy not to buy it for 235! PS. it also does not take stocks for airsoft guns it only accepts real ar-15 and m4 stocks and buffer tubes. spring a bit weak and useful quick change spring system!

Pros:
Great stock bucking
great internals
CNC manufactured and engraved external body
accurate and has great range
m249 style trigger switch for better response time and smoother trigger pulls
tight bore barrel (can not find the diameter anywhere but i'm guessing its a 6.3 mm

Cons:
motor gets warm fast
loose hop up wheel
barrel a bit greasy out of the box
stock spring a bit weak
by M. MILLER Date Added: Friday 13 August, 2010
For: ARES Full Metal M4A1 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
before you buy this gun, you should know that regular AEG stocks will not fit on this gun, this gun can only use real steel stocks and buffertubes.



Pros:


Cons:
by T. SHOEMAKER verified buyer Date Added: Thursday 12 August, 2010
verified buyer
For: ARES Full Metal M4A1 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
wow, is all i have to say. got this gun about a day ago and I've already run through 5000 bb's, this gun is that much fun to fire, and every time you do it makes you think wow i made a good purchase. This gun is constructed superbly out of aluminum and steel, while the plastic is quality and not shit ABS or that JG crap. there's a bit of mag wobble, but you only notice it when your literally shaking the mag with your hand. The ARES is accurate and fairly powerful stock, and if you wanna upgrade it has a quick change spring system that makes it easier than ever to change out a spring. The gun came greased up nicely, which is peace of mind to me, and the best thing, ARES test fires there guns before they leave the factory, that's just a sign of a good manufacturer, buy this gun, you won't be disapointed at all.

Pros:
Amazing build quality
2 metal mags (grey)
good ROF even with an 8.4
black flash hider included
greased up nicely stock
quick change spring system
High torque motor


Cons:
slight mag wobble, but if you care that much about it, your probably an idiot.
by J. MELENDREZ verified buyer Date Added: Wednesday 11 August, 2010
verified buyer
For: ARES Full Metal M4A1 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
After numerous frustrations with cheaper brands (Jg, CYMA, Echo 1) I have finally decided to nut up and buy this fine rifle which I've have my eyes on for a while now. Let me say that this is about the closest you can get to a real AR15, all the while kicking total a$$. The thing weighs (loaded) the same as my RRA AR, and the first thing i said when i opened the box was holy s#!t i have made myself a fine purchase here. It is comprised of steel and aluminum right where it is on the real steel and the plastic could be a bit better but it is still solid as a rock. The RoF is absolutely phenomenal out of the box while shooting 403-410 with .25's. I was getting approx. 12-14 rps on a charged intellect 8.4v mini (may I remind you this gun is completely stock). The only downsides, which are only here because i need to make a point of it, is that after about the 3 pull back on the very stiff charging handle the nub that closes the dust cover snapped off, no biggie, the imitation bolt will keep anything you dont want in the gun out. And 2nd is that the orange tip on the gun is glued on and requires much force to remove, but once it is you'll be fine. Overall this is the best gun i've seen out as of now for such an amazing price. If you are tossing up ANY other M4 along with this one believe me, you will not be disappointed.

Pros:
Amazing Build quality
2 (two) 113 round mid caps (very nice greyish color)
12-14 RPS on an 8.4v alone
403-410 (while pulling this RoF)
Forward sling mount
Stiff charging handle
Functioning bolt catch
Accurate (comes stock with 6.03 tightbore)
Includes steel birdcage flash hider
Great shipping materials
MOSFET for great trigger response
Full Aluminum Receivers and steel parts
One piece outer barrel
Stiff Delta Ring
Good plastic
Tough sling mounts
ASGI service and support (not that you'll need them with the quality of this weapon :D)
AMAZING GUN


Cons:
Weak dust cover nub (a problem on any M4 don't worry)
Orange tip is glued
Battery runs out pretty quickly as it pulls 405 fps while firing at 12 RPS
Plastic could be better
A bit of mag wobble
*I am only putting these cons to be fair and list whats "wrong" with the gun, i find none of these to be detrimental to the gun and no one should take it that way*

BUY THIS GUN! SERIOUSLY.
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back Write Review

Out of Stock

Copyright © 2014 Airsoft GI
Airsoft GI CAGE CODE   See Airsoft GI Reviews at Bizrate.com
Disclaimer: All airsoft guns are required to have the tip (1/4 inch) of the barrel permanently colored in blaze orange. No person may openly display or expose any imitation firearm (replica firearm), in a public place. The term "public place" means an area open to the public or exposed to public view and includes streets, sidewalks, bridges, alleys, plazas, parks, driveways, parking lots, automobiles, whether moving or not, and buildings open to the general public, including those that serve food or drink, or provide entertainment, and the doorways and entrances to buildings or dwellings and the grounds enclosing them.
Any person who changes, alters, removes, or obliterates any coloration or markings that are required for by any applicable state or federal law or regulation, for any imitation firearm (replica firearm), or device in any way that makes the imitation firearm (replica firearm) or device look more like a firearm is guilty of violating the state or federal law.
By accessing the Site, you certify that you are older than 18 years of age or the age of majority where you live, whichever is older; that you are the owner of any credit card used to purchase on items on the Site; that you are familiar with all local laws in your area affecting your legal right to access airsoft products; that any products you buy are for your own private enjoyment and that you will NEVER share these products with a minor in ANY WAY.

DB1 Current Parse Time: 0.181 s with 31 queries