0 items
New Products
Restocked
Pre-Order Products
GI Shockers

Manufacturers

CQB Spotlight Field Spotlight Sniper Spotlight
MRC Super Brain 960 Charger with LCD
[00560 / RB960]
$55.00
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
by C. MAYORGA verified buyer Date Added: Monday 30 December, 2013
verified buyer
For: MRC Super Brain 960 Charger with LCD
Product Information:
This is a must have when playing airsoft. I have already convinced my friends to purchase one since we all have ruined a couple of batteries with the wall chargers. Its a cheaper option than buying batteries. Although this charger does not charge LiPo's.

Pros:
easy to use
fast charger
trickle charge when its done

Cons:
Need to buy a small adapter for some batteries
by D. SEE verified buyer Date Added: Friday 16 March, 2012
verified buyer
For: MRC Super Brain 960 Charger with LCD
Product Information:
A must if you are using an airsoft rifle, machine gun, or sub machine gun that requires a NiCad or NiMH battery to operate. When I first entered airsoft, I didn't know what to choose, what gun to buy, what battery and especially what kind of charger. At first I just said fine to the basic wall charge that came with most guns, but then they started to be not fully charged or just plain died. I then saw this on airsoftgi.com, and thought about it. I didn't wanna blow up another battery and let $35-$40 dollars go to waste so i got it. It was perfect, easy to use, and 3 power sources. On the go, using a car battery, in your house, wall outlet connector, and it had its own battery (if it is charged from one of the 1st 2 I mentioned). This charger is a must so I'd recommend anyone to get one right now.

Pros:
Easy to use
Multiple ways to let charger have power (On the go, in the house, or just a quick charge)
Very fast and efficient ( around 30 min)
Has LCD display screen to tell the voltage, the battery health and many more
Will go to trickle charge for 30 min after its done (can be longer but just don't leave it too long)


Cons:
Manual doesn't have a single picture to help
Need to buy a separate adapter for small connectors.
( not sure if this is a con) Only charges NiCad and NiMH
(guess it depends on what you have and what you use)
by T. ALLEN verified buyer Date Added: Monday 10 August, 2009
verified buyer
For: MRC Super Brain 960 Charger with LCD
by R. ROOT verified buyer Date Added: Saturday 10 January, 2009
verified buyer
For: MRC Super Brain 960 Charger with LCD
Product Information:
My last charger died within the first couple uses, so decided to spend a little more on my next one. I'm really glad I went with this as a result. It's everything I need in a charger, and feels a lot more sturdy and less cheap than my previous one. Compact, Fast, and Convenient. The manual was informative too, and written with very easy to understand wording.

I'm not a battery expert, so I'm not sure the pros and cons associated with charge speed; I'm happy with the fact that this will charge my 4200 mAh 8.4v battery in under a half hour though! Judging from the other reviews and some quick internet searching (nothing too in-depth yet, I'm afraid), there doesn't appear to be anything bad about it.

What I didn't understand is why the voltage display (the default display after plugging in the battery) kept rising for my battery. I can't remember clearly, but I think it started around the accurate voltage of my battery (8.4). By the end of my charge however, it had slowly risen up to past 10v. I think this may just have something to do with trickle mode and how the manual describes it as "helping to maintain the peak voltage in the battery", but am not sure. Perhaps this also relates to reviewer J. NGUYEN's complaints of increased FPS.

Overall, though? I love this charger and highly recommend it.

--------------------------------

As for the poster below me (R. DENNIS), I found your claims to be somewhat inaccurate. If you'll allow me to quote:
- "I have 3 mini NIMH batteries; 1100mah JinYin (POS), 1200mah Intellect & a 1600mah Intellect. The charger automatically selected 3amps for each battery, (it also states 3amps in the manual)"

And now to quote the manual.
- "NiMH batteries usually carry a recommended charge rate of 1C, with C being the rated capacity of the battery. For example, if a battery is rated at 3000 mAh, a 1C charge rate would be equal to 3 amps(1000 mAh = 1amp)."

Clearly, the recommended amps as stated by the manual for your batteries would equate to the following: 1100 mah JinYin = 1.1amps, 1200 mah Intellect = 1.2 amps, and 1600 mah Intellect = 1.6amps. I'm not sure where you're getting the 3amps thing, other than the example using a 3000 mAh battery. While that doesn't change the fact that the Plug 'n Play was very clearly off, I thought I'd at least clear up your apparent misconceptions with the manual.


Pros:
Plug 'n Play
Charges Very Fast
Adjustable Settings
Informative Manual
Trickle Mode upon Completion
Can Use a Car Battery to Charge (helpful for all day games without access to wall outlets)

Cons:
No Discharge mode for NiCad battery owners
by R. DENNIS verified buyer Date Added: Sunday 19 October, 2008
verified buyer
For: MRC Super Brain 960 Charger with LCD
Product Information:
Wow, obviously most of the people who bought this charger are completely clueless on how a battery should be charged. "I charged my 4200mah battery in only 10 minutes!!" That is NOT good for any battery. The faster a battery is charged the faster it will wear out.

I had a serious problem with this charger so take heed.

The Super Brain is supposed to automatically detect the BEST charge settings for each battery you hook up. However, this has not been the case for me. I have 3 mini NIMH batteries; 1100mah JinYin (POS), 1200mah Intellect & a 1600mah Intellect. The charger automatically selected 3amps for each battery, (it also states 3amps in the manual) which I thought was a bit much, but I decided to roll with it. Well, it turns out it wasn't a good idea.

After charging about 8 minutes the battery got extremely hot, almost too hot to hold. Then it made a popping noise so I promptly disconnected the battery. I tried all 3 batteries and it did the same to all of them. I manually adjusted the amps down in .5 increments until I eventually reached the only rate at which the battery would stay cool, which was 1amp.

I called Batteries Plus and explained what had happened and they said the batteries should not be charged any higher than 1.5amps MAX. They also suggested I bring the batteries in to have them checked, since it sounded like I might have fried them. All 3 of my batteries somehow turned out ok.

I had all my equipment on a flat surface, plenty of room all the way around, etc...did everything by the book.

I suggest you use this charger for the purpose it was designed. Why pay $55 for this charger when all you're going to do is fast charge your batteries?

This is a great charger and I will continue to use it, but only at 1amp.

Pros:
Very versatile, allows many adjustments for each charge.
Can charge up to 8 cells.
Can be attached to a car battery for charging, although it takes a LOT longer.

Cons:
Comes with a large Tamiya Connector only.
by Z. DUDA Date Added: Monday 02 June, 2008
For: MRC Super Brain 960 Charger with LCD
I just made a video to show how easy it is to use.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h4NwIEry9O4#GU5U2spHI_4
by H. KAJITA verified buyer Date Added: Monday 02 June, 2008
verified buyer
For: MRC Super Brain 960 Charger with LCD
Good little charger...just plug in battery and press start. Charged my 9.6v 2000 mah nunchuck in less than 10 minutes.
by J. KALANTA verified buyer Date Added: Tuesday 29 April, 2008
verified buyer
For: MRC Super Brain 960 Charger with LCD
I agree with most other people that is a fantastic charger. However, i have run into difficulites along with two of my other friends who also bought this charger. When trying to charge a battery that is under 1500 MAH it seems to charge it within 1 minute and although it says it is done the battery will last often no more than 5 shots and then die.

Despite that slight problem we all have larger baterries also and with my 4200 MAH battery it can be fully charged in about 1 hour.

Overall a great buy and must have for anyone who doesn't want to wait a long time and have to worry about unplugging their battery after it''s finished due to this batteries trickle charge ability.
by Z. FICHTLER verified buyer Date Added: Thursday 27 March, 2008
verified buyer
For: MRC Super Brain 960 Charger with LCD
Absolutely foolproof. Plug in your battery, and it will show you its current charge level. Push start, and then it does the rest. It will test the battery to make sure all the cells are good. It will determine how much it needs to charge. And it will charge. It'll stop and beep when it's done, and then switch to a trickle charge.

A++

Totally worth it.
by E. REDOBLADO Date Added: Tuesday 26 February, 2008
For: MRC Super Brain 960 Charger with LCD
If your looking forward or shopping around in search for that perfect battery charger, you've found it !!!! for only 55 bucks this charger is worth every penny !!! Its durable, super fast, and easy to use. Seriously this charger is ridiculous on how fast it can charge..WITH ABSOLUTELY NO POWER it fully charged my 8.4v 1500mAH stick battery in 10 mins !!! To make things better it charged my 9.6v 4200mAH large battery in only 30mins !!!!!! heres the pros and cons of it ...

PROS:
-Legit Price
-Durable
-Charges SUPER fast !!!!
-LCD Screening
-Adjustable AMP
-Really easy to use
-Shuts off after fully charged
-Lets you know when the battery is done charging


CONS:
-Need a purchase a LARGE TO SMALL adapter to charge your small batteries



..its simple, YOU HAVE TO BUY THIS CHARGER !!!!! you will not be disappointed !!!!!
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back Write Review

Out of Stock

Copyright © 2014 Airsoft GI
Airsoft GI CAGE CODE   See Airsoft GI Reviews at Bizrate.com
Disclaimer: All airsoft guns are required to have the tip (1/4 inch) of the barrel permanently colored in blaze orange. No person may openly display or expose any imitation firearm (replica firearm), in a public place. The term "public place" means an area open to the public or exposed to public view and includes streets, sidewalks, bridges, alleys, plazas, parks, driveways, parking lots, automobiles, whether moving or not, and buildings open to the general public, including those that serve food or drink, or provide entertainment, and the doorways and entrances to buildings or dwellings and the grounds enclosing them.
Any person who changes, alters, removes, or obliterates any coloration or markings that are required for by any applicable state or federal law or regulation, for any imitation firearm (replica firearm), or device in any way that makes the imitation firearm (replica firearm) or device look more like a firearm is guilty of violating the state or federal law.
By accessing the Site, you certify that you are older than 18 years of age or the age of majority where you live, whichever is older; that you are the owner of any credit card used to purchase on items on the Site; that you are familiar with all local laws in your area affecting your legal right to access airsoft products; that any products you buy are for your own private enjoyment and that you will NEVER share these products with a minor in ANY WAY.

DB1 Current Parse Time: 0.362 s with 28 queries