0 items
New Products
Restocked
Pre-Order Products
GI Shockers

Manufacturers

CQB Spotlight Field Spotlight Sniper Spotlight
Echo 1 Full Metal/Real Wood RED STAR AKM AEG Airsoft Gun
[05331 / JP-48]
$235.00
Displaying 21 to 30 (of 38 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
by P. BYRNE Date Added: Sunday 03 January, 2010
For: Echo 1 Full Metal/Real Wood RED STAR AKM AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
can somebody tell me what kind of mags can be used for this gun. esp:round drums

Pros:


Cons:
by J. BROWN verified buyer Date Added: Tuesday 29 December, 2009
verified buyer
For: Echo 1 Full Metal/Real Wood RED STAR AKM AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
Can some one help me? I have this gun but the stock battery it comes with sucks and i need to get a new one. you think a 8.4v 1400 would fit in the stock? help please

Pros:


Cons:
by C. VUCETA verified buyer Date Added: Saturday 26 December, 2009
verified buyer
For: Echo 1 Full Metal/Real Wood RED STAR AKM AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
i got this gun for christmas. when i opened it up it looks wonderful. full steel real wood it does not get more awesomer than this. in the trades where it say's red star, they spelled the s and the r backwards. goes to show ya americans did not build this gun. very nice gun. but another bad this is i don't like the handgrip it's fairly rough and creaky. other than that it's a great gun i highly recommend this gun for people who can lift weights because this gun is HEAVY. oh also my mag had a washer stuck in the spring where the bb's are supposed to go but, i fixed that problem. over all great gun.

Pros:
fps: 400
Rpm : 800-850
full steal
real wood
plastic flashider

Cons:
bad handgrip
wobbly mag (not that bad)
screwed up mag
that it's it.
heavy for an airsoft gun
by W. FINNEYFROCK verified buyer Date Added: Wednesday 16 December, 2009
verified buyer
For: Echo 1 Full Metal/Real Wood RED STAR AKM AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:


Pros:
Stock cover can't fall off and get lost because of twou screws

Cons:
Hard to swap clips fast
by T. SHEILL Date Added: Tuesday 26 January, 2010
For: Echo 1 Full Metal/Real Wood RED STAR AKM AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
It's an excellent gun. It ripped my mates pants at close range, and it made me cry tears of joy.
It feels wonderful. If your looking for an AK, this is it. no problems so far, well, no major problems.
I've gone through one war in the winter with it, and it performed terrifically.

Pros:
It's an AK
good range
shoots hard
big mag
real wood
real metal
good sights
light weight
cool looking


Cons:
mag was a little messed up. the door that you open to pour the bb's in broke off.
my friends barrel was REALLY wobbly, and my hand guard was wobbly too. We fixed it with Warhammer 40k glue.
it's expensive.
by B. HUNGERFORD verified buyer Date Added: Thursday 14 January, 2010
verified buyer
For: Echo 1 Full Metal/Real Wood RED STAR AKM AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
This Gun has only 1 plastic piece. That is the pistol grip, but it is an amazing "non breakable" plastic. This gun is rather heavy mainly because it is a nice steel metal. the wood is real wood and the 600 round hi cap mag it comes with is also metal. The selector switch is a little loose but no biggy.

Pros:
-real metal
-high fps (430 fps out of the box!)
-high rate of fire even for 8.4 volt battery
-real wood
-600 round hi cap



Cons:
-selector switch is a little loose, but you can probably tighten it
-orange tip is a pain to get off
by S. OLAS verified buyer Date Added: Friday 06 November, 2009
verified buyer
For: Echo 1 Full Metal/Real Wood RED STAR AKM AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
Actual Ply Wood
Full metal, no half metal half plastic garbage

This was one of three guns for me before I sold my JG M4 Upgraded S-System (also baught at _3 ASGI _3) It has a wonderfull feal to it. There are only three plastic parts to this thing, orange flash hider of course, pistol grip which is a given anyways, and the piece the rear sight rests on. thats it. It keeps up if not bests my Echo 1 S.C.A.R. Light in accuracy, and they are about even on fire power at 430 fps. that is before the spring is settled in. The m4 S-System never realy met my expectations in performance anyways so the comparison in accuracy was in the Ak's favor. As for the Mags, i never messed with an off brand, when i baught this sexy beast i also baught a second magazine, an Echo 1 magazine at around 20$. its the full metal one that looks exactly like the one that in the gun in the picture, you cant really miss it. Both fit like a glove and fire perfectley, i have never gotten a jam so far and it's largest test so far will be tomorrow... its game time. Overall, a wonderfull gun.
Anytime i look at a review, people usually say its a good buy, even if its a crap gun... im very sceptical of airsoft guns and reviews that why i do alot of research, which i suggest before buying a gun. (go yougube XD) but if you do get this gun, you will not be dissapointed I assure you. It held up to all of my expectations, which are allways set very very high. This is realy the only AK on the market that i believe is "worth a damn."

P.S. the video is right, watch out if your buying a second battery for this baby when you buy the gun. The battery is a mini type with a large connector. It fits fine with plenty of room in the stock but without the proper connector... your hosed on your new battery. So unlike the Echo 1 SCAR LIght and JG M4's and G36's this puppy has a large connector from the battery to the motor wires.

Keep your guns lubed, thanks for reading.

Pros:
-Full metal Full Plywood.
-Excellent Excellent job on the primer of the wood. not too dark, not to light. WTG Echo 1, its not a Cyma XD
-Excelent RPM, (have yet to experament with a new battery)
-FPS is around 430 stock and fresh. (after spring break in period FPS is unknown)
-Has a scope mount.
-Full metal Mags. (dont buy offbrands, I dont know what will happen if you do.)
-Fire selector is nice and klickey, just as it should be, no "free swing"
-because of the power, rpm and accuracy, it can punch through some pretty thick vegitation (within reason) to hit your target if need be.


Cons:
There are not many cons to this gun. The only real beefs i have with this guy is in the Butt Plate. Its nothing to rediculouse but in order to remove the battery you need a philips screw driver to remove two screws. Don't let this detour you as even the stock battery lasts quite a while so you wont have to change too often unless your doing an all day game-a-thon.

Be carefull as your puting in your magazine, if you try to put it in too high you may grab the top of the magazine cap... which from there gets stuck, but with a few seconds of messing around with it, the mag will come free. Just dont rush your mag change and everything will be ok.
by H. EDWARDS verified buyer Date Added: Friday 23 October, 2009
verified buyer
For: Echo 1 Full Metal/Real Wood RED STAR AKM AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
ok, first off this gun is great. good weight but not heavy, even if you carry another rifle (i have CA G36K). there is a slight wobble where the handguard meets the receiver but it's unnoticeable mostly. i noticed mine when i was fixing all my guns up one Saturday. It shoots hot out of the box which for me is good cause i like long range engagements. it's accurate with the stock barrel (6.08 i think) but i may get a tight bore eventually. it is a very pretty gun, especially for the price tag. i put a CYMA scope mount and the ASGI 3-9x40 on and it looks and shoots so sexy. i also suggest it because AK47's aren't known for there great sights in real life either. the rate of fire can be a little sluggish but it's not bad, i actually like it so i conserve bbs running midcaps. make sure you are careful reloading though because if you miss the notch in the mag then you have to slap it out which might break the mag (not to mention if you run mids you can empty the mag) once you get used to it you can do a full on spetnaz reload tho.

Pros:
accurate
nice externals
high FPS
conservative ROF but not slow
nice weight.
looks awesome with a scope

Cons:
iron sights are like all AK sights. usable but not very comfortable at long range.
the mags can be cumbersome because you have to get the notch lined up right (just a lil practice needed)
by M. GOVER verified buyer Date Added: Saturday 26 September, 2009
verified buyer
For: Echo 1 Full Metal/Real Wood RED STAR AKM AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
First off this gun is beast. The fps is insane shooting 430 right out of the box. And the range is amazing. I used it in a war and took outr all four of my oppenents in 5 min. One of which from 100 yards, your not usaully gonna get that shot but the fps and rate of fire and this thing made it possible. Your not going to find a gun that preforms like this gun unless your willing to spend a heck of a lot of money. Another thing is that the accuracy on this thing is amazing. I lined up about 5 cans about 120 ft away and was consitantly hitting each can. Plus the mag holds about 600 rounds even though youll never need that many with this gun. So I suggest you get this gun.

Pros:
430 fps with 0.2s
Range 120 ft or more
Mag holds 600 rounds
Real wood
Full metal
Nice realistic weight
Good CQB gun if you want to put holes in your friends.


Cons:
It hurts if you get hit by it but dont be a pussy.
by C. NEWMAN verified buyer Date Added: Monday 14 September, 2009
verified buyer
For: Echo 1 Full Metal/Real Wood RED STAR AKM AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
Fan of Ak's? Are you a fan of high FPS? Are you an Airsofter looking for a durable Mil/Sim weapon without paying exorbitantly high prices? Without sounding like a bad car salesperson, I want to say that, now, after I have purchased, and skirmished, with this gun, I have not been left with the foul aftertaste of "Buyer's Remorse" in the Red Star AK.

As a bread winning husband, with 2 kids, and a wife; the last thing I needed to do was toss away money on a "toy" that would break soon after arriving. Seems like the last two times I bought an Airsoft gun I find myself going through this guilt trip of thinking, "I should have bought diapers instead of the gun".

At $300 (after my two little mods) this gun will set you back to be sure. Considering the higher end guns, and their costs, this is a steal in the world of Airsoft Weaponry. I wouldn't put your family in financial jeopardy over this gun, but for those of you that saved up, it is one Airsoft gun you won't regret buying (lemon's excluded).

The Echo Redstar is a CYMA 048, rebranded by JG and ECHO. I studied reviews on You Tube, and looked through the usual sources: Airsoft Retreat, Arnie's, and any CYMA 048 review I could get my eyes on. The gun has a great rep thus far. The gun has proven to exceed expectations.

I previously owned a JG 614. Awesome gun! The reason I bought this Echo AK was that my JG 614 plastic spring guide shattered. To repair it was a big chunk of money I decided to just invest in a new gun.

This internals of this AK are superior to my JG 614 (metal spring guide and hop-up for instance). I will repair my JG, but this AK is a long range bomber with even higher FPS. On the range, the only excuse for me losing a battle is my own human error.

I asked Airsoft GI to install a Prometheus tightbore and Prometheus Bucking before it arrived at my door. That was a good move. The gun is accurate to within 3 inches at 130 feet, with .25s. The Red Star is able to penetrate a pop can at 140 feet. At 200 feet, I can still hit the second, and inside ring, of a silhouette consistently. It has more distance than that if you "hop-it-up". But really, I don't like to shoot with the BB's in an upward arc. I like straight on frozen rope shooting.

One other thing. I know FPS is something that is debatable in the Airsoft forums. Some guys hate the macho style, high FPS trash talkers, and say, "FPS is no substitute for tactical knowledge and strategy". I agree with that group actually, but I must say, I am a closet FPS junkie. This gun is my "fix" for ridiculous bb speed.

I think it is worth buying this gun and downgrading the speed of the spring, but I won't be doing that anytime soon. For woodland, farmyard, and old building skirmishes here in our location, this is an incredible fun and fast weapon to play with. But the externals are reason enough to think hard about this gun. The metal is durable and the wood is solid. This external should be in your collection indefinitely.

I do miss the maneuverability of my JG 614. The 614 has a high rate of fire, and was much easier to engage combatants around corners and in tight places. But, the more I get used to this gun, the more I like it. After 3 weeks, and 5 skirmishes, I can tell you that is has not missed a beat. It just keeps getting better as I grow into it. It is devastating, particularly, at longer distances. I can reach the opponent, they cannot reach me.

My advice: Get .25 gram bb's and shoot them exclusively. Buy an intellect 9.6 mini asap. Install the tightbore and bucking.

Know that, in my humble opinion, this Echo Red Star was worth its weight in "diapers"- at least in my opinion.

Newman

Airsofter for 4 years


Pros:
1. 30 day warranty
2. Steel Upper Receiver
3. Exceptional FPS with .25 gram bb's (420)
4. 7mm bushings
5. Steel spring guide with bearing
6. Metal hop up unit
7. Excellent detail in markings on gun.


Cons:
1. Why the small 9.6 mini battery? Really now. Shouldn't a big shooter like this have a battery to match?

2. Pot metal is included in some of the external parts of the gun

3. Why not make the removable barrel cleaner a real un-jamming rod? It is useful to have a rod on the field, it would not have been hard to make this fit of plastic un-jamming rods.

4. Rate-of-fire is average (10-14 bb's per second)

5. Boy's she'll make your opponents bleed at less than 40 feet!. Exposed flesh that is hit by this baby will cause more than a welt. I don't mind, but some players aren't to happy about the whole bleeding thing!

6. Lastly, Echo/JG/CYMA why did you make this battery compartment so small? You put a 9.6 MINI in this thing? What were you thinking!!!!!
-p.s. The factory battery is absolutely worthless. Buy an aftermarket battery. You really need one. The factory won't hardly hold a charge. It is truly a throw away in my experience.
Displaying 21 to 30 (of 38 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back Write Review

Add to Cart

Copyright © 2014 Airsoft GI
Airsoft GI CAGE CODE   See Airsoft GI Reviews at Bizrate.com
Disclaimer: All airsoft guns are required to have the tip (1/4 inch) of the barrel permanently colored in blaze orange. No person may openly display or expose any imitation firearm (replica firearm), in a public place. The term "public place" means an area open to the public or exposed to public view and includes streets, sidewalks, bridges, alleys, plazas, parks, driveways, parking lots, automobiles, whether moving or not, and buildings open to the general public, including those that serve food or drink, or provide entertainment, and the doorways and entrances to buildings or dwellings and the grounds enclosing them.
Any person who changes, alters, removes, or obliterates any coloration or markings that are required for by any applicable state or federal law or regulation, for any imitation firearm (replica firearm), or device in any way that makes the imitation firearm (replica firearm) or device look more like a firearm is guilty of violating the state or federal law.
By accessing the Site, you certify that you are older than 18 years of age or the age of majority where you live, whichever is older; that you are the owner of any credit card used to purchase on items on the Site; that you are familiar with all local laws in your area affecting your legal right to access airsoft products; that any products you buy are for your own private enjoyment and that you will NEVER share these products with a minor in ANY WAY.

DB4 Current Parse Time: 0.409 s with 32 queries