0 items
New Products
Restocked
Pre-Order Products
GI Shockers

Manufacturers

CQB Spotlight Field Spotlight Sniper Spotlight
NC STAR 1x25 Compact Red Dot Sight (Weaver Mount)
[03943 / DAB]
$19.99
Displaying 11 to 20 (of 30 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  [Next >>] 
by L. MACKENZIE verified buyer Date Added: Tuesday 19 March, 2013
verified buyer
For: NC STAR 1x25 Compact Red Dot Sight (Weaver Mount)
Product Information:
Great Red Dot Sight, Good bang for your buck. Comes with Allen Wrench, Cleaning Cloth and Extra Battery

Pros:
Cheap
Metal
Red and Green Dots
Easy Assembly on Gun
3 Modes to each color

Cons:
Confusing to adjust
Bad Instructions
by J. GA verified buyer Date Added: Tuesday 28 June, 2011
verified buyer
For: NC STAR 1x25 Compact Red Dot Sight (Weaver Mount)
Product Information:
I own this sight. This is my first optic, as I am relatively new to Airsoft. I received it last week, and have used it for target practice since sighting it in. I have not used it in "combat." I offer that background for context purposes.

That said, I think this sight is great for the $. I don't see a significant difference in the brightness settings between 1 & 3, but all are functional. Green dot seems sharper, but red dot does show up better in daylight.

The sight is relatively easy to calibrate, but does require significant adjustments for what I perceive to be insignificant changes in target distance. Example: I needed to adjust the sight when changing from targets located 20-30 ft away to targets 50-60 ft away. This may be the case with ANY sight, and this is where my inexperience may be coming into play. So take that observation for what it's worth. While easy to calibrate, it does require an (included) Allen wrench/key. This isn't that big of a deal to me when shooting target practice, but were I to use it in combat and require an adjustment, it would be a drag.

The unit is relatively easy to install, but the sight will slide back & forth in the mounts with proper force. I suppose if I knocked it hard, or bumped into something while running, the sight might slip out of its bracket mounts. I haven't really muscled it on with a screwdriver, but as it appears to be secured tightly to the gun, I'm not sure how much tighter the grip on the sight could be even if I were to do so.

All in all I am satisfied with this purchase. Had I paid $40 or more, I would have regrets. But for $19, I can live with what I perceive to be its minimal short-comings. Good sight for the money. Seems to be well-made with quality materials. I'm giving it 4 stars because I wish it was darn near immovable once secured on the gun (and it's not), and I wish I didn't have to use an Allen wrench to calibrate it every time. Maybe the next optic I purchase will have thumbwheel adjustment... and will probably cost me more than $19. ;_)

Good entry level sight, and since I'm an entry level Airsofter, we're a good match.

Pros:
Nice weight; feels like a high-quality piece of equipment
Works as advertised
Sights in well
Easy to adjust with the included Allen wrench
Minimalist look meshes great with my gun (G&G GR300 Long)
Comes with an extra battery
Nice bang for the buck

Cons:
Will shift in the brackets slightly with significant force applied
Have to use an Allen wrench to adjust the sight
by R. SVEJDA verified buyer Date Added: Wednesday 27 October, 2010
verified buyer
For: NC STAR 1x25 Compact Red Dot Sight (Weaver Mount)
Product Information:
To start, $19 is a REALLY good price for what you get in this pakage.
First, the external build quality is great; nothing wrong with it at all. Note: The actual body is seprate from the mounts. The reason being is that the mounts are reversible if you will; they flip over to fit either a 3/8 inch dovetail mount or a standard 20mm picitany rail. You do need to put some muscle into the tighning nobs so they are solid against the sight and rail, but once its secure, its not going anywhere.
The housing for the adjustment and lense are solid, but the real kicker for this sight is that it seems to be paralax free. If its not, its pretty close to being that way.
The brightness is great; bright on a sunny day and the green is great for indoors and low light environments.
My only beef about it is that the dot is fairly large, so not the greatest for long range but then again I'm used to shooting with a 2 MOA dot, so not that bad.

Pros:
-Solid build quality
-Paralax free
-Brightness settings
-Price

Cons:
-Somewhat big dot
-Tricky mounts


Overall, great buy for $19, especially for those with a budget.
Hit that button...
by F. CROWLEY verified buyer Date Added: Wednesday 06 October, 2010
verified buyer
For: NC STAR 1x25 Compact Red Dot Sight (Weaver Mount)
Product Information:
For such a cheap sight, this little number delivers. If you need a red dot for any reason, and don't want to break the bank, it's hard to go wrong with this. The only problems I've encountered so far, is the lens housing, having some wobble to it, and being a little difficult to zero.

Wobble fix:
There are 4 allen screws in the base of the sight, two under the lens housing, and two under the laser housing. Take an allen wrench that's one size smaller then the one that comes with the sight, and slowly and evenly tighten both under the housing. If the laser housing wobbles do the same.

Pros:
Strong
Compatible with most rails
Red or Green dot of varying brightness
Works well at night
Will work well on most guns.


Cons:
Easily fixable wobble.
by J. OBRIEN Date Added: Thursday 19 August, 2010
For: NC STAR 1x25 Compact Red Dot Sight (Weaver Mount)
Product Information:
The NC STAR Compact Red Dot is the first Optical accessory that I have personally purchased from Airsoft GI and from opening the package I was not disappointed. My first impressions were the weight. As others have described, the unit is fairly heavy for a sight however; I really see this as a plus. The unit itself is very sturdy.

Sturdiness aside, I was surprised by the versatility. The scope has two has two options (red dot and green dot) and each has 3 brightness settings but the functionality does not stop there. The rear of the laser is adjustable up and down for height or distance adjustment and, more to my surprise, it may also be adjusted left and right for wind adjustment. Every feature of this sight lends to the shooter's accuracy.

The only issue that I did have lies with the Weaver Mount. I would not say that the Weaver Mount is hopelessly unstable, however; it does take a good deal of adjustment, loosening and tightening, to get it to remain centered. After tinkering with the Weaver Mount for some time, I got the sight stable and haven't had any further problems. This is a solid sight and a great starter sight for CQB.

Pros:
Sturdy
Durable
3 x brightness settings
2 option dot sight (red & green)
Versatile
Economical

Cons:
Weaver Mount is a little unstable but adjustable
Slightly heavy
by H. JANG Date Added: Saturday 31 July, 2010
For: NC STAR 1x25 Compact Red Dot Sight (Weaver Mount)
Product Information:
It's a good little red dot for the price. The overall sight is about an inch wide and 4~ inches long. It's almost full metal and a little on the heavy side. Has 3 brightness settings and you can choose from green or red. Red dot is also adjustable. I use it on my G36K and although it's wickedly accurate I'd recommend using it on small submachine guns and the like. Still works well on my G36K. IT ALSO HAS PARALLAX COMPENSATION! No more centering the red dot exactly in the middle; even if you aim through different angles and viewpoints, the red dot aims exactly where you're pointing the gun, not where you're looking! This is very surprising considering that it's a $19 red dot.

Pros:
Accurate
Nearly all metal construction
Solid
Durable
Heavy (as in not-toy-like)
3 Brightness settings, green or red dot of your choice
Long lasting battery
Mounts securely
Cheap for the value
Parallax compensation

Cons:
A little heavy (as in makes your rifle a bit more noticeably heavy, but not too bad)
by K. FONTAINE verified buyer Date Added: Wednesday 10 March, 2010
verified buyer
For: NC STAR 1x25 Compact Red Dot Sight (Weaver Mount)
Product Information:
Airsoft is a really expansive game, with certain necesities costing more than you would expect and want them to. This is a great exception to the rule. Absolutely great buy for indoor CQB. Easy to use, easy to install, not problems at all for me. Its a little to dim for very sunny conditions but otherwise this thing performs better than the cost, and the full metal gives it a nice durable feeling.

Pros:
Red/Green dot
3 brightness setting
metal
easy to adjust and use
extra batteries


Cons:
Kinda small (25mm) but isnt really an issue
rail mount could be easier, isnt hard but definitely could have been simpler

still a great purchase ASGI is great
by M. WEBB Date Added: Monday 28 December, 2009
For: NC STAR 1x25 Compact Red Dot Sight (Weaver Mount)
Product Information:
This is a great red/green dot sight. It looks really similar to the one on CoD if you look down the sights. It helped me get really accurate shots from medium distances. It looks especially good on tactical guns. I wouldnt reccomend it for rifles though. It didnt do so good for me in that area. One thing I noticed is it wouldnt stay sturdy on the weaver rails. Its like it has a design flaw and would easily slide off the rails if you add somewhat force. But its tight enough to not fall off during play. One more thing is usually when I want to turn the dile to adjust it, the battery cap is on top so it will attend to loosen.

Pros:
-Looks great
-Adds Accuracy
-Decent lasting time on battery


Cons:
-Doesnt stay tight in rails
-Battery cap turns when I turn the dile to toggle brightness or off/on
by A. VISCIOTTI verified buyer Date Added: Wednesday 09 December, 2009
verified buyer
For: NC STAR 1x25 Compact Red Dot Sight (Weaver Mount)
Product Information:
I put it on my MP5 and it looks great! Sits nicely on the rail too.

It sucks sometimes if you're playing in a high desert area with alot of sunlight, but you can't beat the value.

Pros:
Easy to sight.
Great Price
Red and Green Laser.
Accurate.

Cons:
Hard to see in broad daylight.
Large dot.
by N. NG verified buyer Date Added: Saturday 21 November, 2009
verified buyer
For: NC STAR 1x25 Compact Red Dot Sight (Weaver Mount)
Product Information:
the best aiming aid in the world i bought it for my scar and it works like a charm it is small so it won't blow your cover it has green and red dot both with different brightness levels and is extremely easy to adjust just takes some time

Pros:
metal construction
very very very bright both on geen and red dot
somewhat easy to install
adds major looks to your gun
is 100% hit a penny from 45 feet away accurate
very cheap (pricewise not built)
2 batteries
good on battery life/use

Cons:
no protectors for the lens
battery can be a pain to get in and out sometimes
those two dont really affect the performance of the product so dont look at them like cons look at them like slight incconviniences
Displaying 11 to 20 (of 30 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back Write Review

Add to Cart

Copyright © 2014 Airsoft GI
Airsoft GI CAGE CODE   See Airsoft GI Reviews at Bizrate.com
Disclaimer: All airsoft guns are required to have the tip (1/4 inch) of the barrel permanently colored in blaze orange. No person may openly display or expose any imitation firearm (replica firearm), in a public place. The term "public place" means an area open to the public or exposed to public view and includes streets, sidewalks, bridges, alleys, plazas, parks, driveways, parking lots, automobiles, whether moving or not, and buildings open to the general public, including those that serve food or drink, or provide entertainment, and the doorways and entrances to buildings or dwellings and the grounds enclosing them.
Any person who changes, alters, removes, or obliterates any coloration or markings that are required for by any applicable state or federal law or regulation, for any imitation firearm (replica firearm), or device in any way that makes the imitation firearm (replica firearm) or device look more like a firearm is guilty of violating the state or federal law.
By accessing the Site, you certify that you are older than 18 years of age or the age of majority where you live, whichever is older; that you are the owner of any credit card used to purchase on items on the Site; that you are familiar with all local laws in your area affecting your legal right to access airsoft products; that any products you buy are for your own private enjoyment and that you will NEVER share these products with a minor in ANY WAY.

DB4 Current Parse Time: 0.200 s with 32 queries