0 items
New Products
Restocked
Pre-Order Products
GI Shockers

Manufacturers

CQB Spotlight Field Spotlight Sniper Spotlight
JG STAR Dragon AEG Airsoft Gun
[03583 / AE-8801-T]
$160.00
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
by W. HARDY verified buyer Date Added: Wednesday 23 October, 2013
verified buyer
For: JG STAR Dragon AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
i got this gun as my first AEG, and besides the really sweet looks it performs pretty well also. iv played with it about 4 times now without any real malfunctions. no jamming ect. it is pretty lightweight and portable. i can carry mine in a regular size duffle bag with most of my other gear. it does need a carry handle mount to mount any optics (about an extra $10) which isn't bad, just good to know so you can pick it up when you get the gun if you plan to use an optic. overall great gun for the price, looks really cool and preforms good as well.

Pros:
good gun for the price
pretty decent RoF with the included battery
looks pretty sweet
small/compact
multiple position extending stock
comfortable to use
great for CQB

Cons:
due to its smaller size doesn't shoot all that far
really small/tight battery compartment
the rubber finish on some parts of the body kinda wears off easily
needs additional carry handle mount to mount any optics
by D. MONTEITH Date Added: Saturday 16 March, 2013
For: JG STAR Dragon AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
I bought this particular gun from an airsoft retailer down the street from me less than a week ago, and right out of the box it impressed me. JG really upped their game in the CQB field with this one. The Star Dragon (a.k.a. Ika Zuchi) has a great feel, with an ergonomic pistol grip and foregrip to comfortably accommodate the shooter for long periods during a firefight. It has a nice weight to it, as it comes with a combination of metal and plastic hardware, but it isn't too heavy to where it wears you out quickly. The 6-position retractable buttstock is a great feature as on your typical M4-style rifle, with a comfortable ergonomic cheekrest built in. However, although it is a great gun with an equally attractive price, it has a few key downfalls that may make or break your decision to buy it. The rifle is highly geared towards right-handed shooters, as the selector switch and magazine release button are fixated so it accommodates right-handers. Also, the pistol grip has a lip that a right-hander's thumb can rest on for support. These characteristics make it amazingly comfortable for a righty, but not so much for a lefty. The battery is also quite a pain to get to, as you have to unscrew the whole front barrel assembly to access it. It comes stock with about a 180rd mid-cap Vietnam-style mag as well with a simple wind-up gear on the base and a very small RIS rail underneath the muzzle. If you wish to purchase this gun, I would recommend buying a higher-power battery (preferably an 11.1v mini lipo, as it can handle this, if you have the money) and one or more 300rd hi-cap mags or higher capacity. But overall, a great gun for the price, for sure.

Pros:
- 350+fps (.20g BBs)
- Ergonomic cheekrest, pistol grip, & foregrip
- Realistic weight
- Accurate at close to mid-range
- Adjustable stock
- Adjustable sights for wind and precision
- Semi & Full auto features
- Can handle most M4-style mags and an 11.1v mini lipo battery


Cons:
- Design heavily geared towards righties
- Soft, rubberized ergonomic seal tends to wear away slightly where gripped and held most
- Battery can be a pain to access
- Not much room to add RIS accessories (unless extra rails are purchased)
by D. MONTEITH Date Added: Monday 15 April, 2013
For: JG STAR Dragon AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
I purchased this AEG about 2 months ago and right out of the box I knew I made a good decision. As soon as you take this gun out, it has a great weight, despite being constructed of mostly polymer material on the exterior (has some metal internal parts), and it's design is good on the eyes as well. The stock battery (8.4v 1100mAh mini) is alright, but I would quite highly recommend one with a higher mAh rating, such as a 1600. The battery compartment is overall a pain in the butt to access, requiring a small Phillips-head screwdriver to unscrew the front muzzle asembly and remove it and the upper battery cover (FYI if you're using the included silencer adapter and a mock silencer, to will need to remove BOTH before performing these steps). Also, the gun is very ergonomic with a rubberized plastic material on the front hand grip, the pistol grip, and the cheek rest on the stock. This comes with its own disadvantages, though, as its highly constructed to accomodate rightys only due to its pistol grip design. With a very stubby construction, and adjustable 6pos crane stock, the ability to spit out 800rpm at about 330-350fps, and the ability to accept most aftermarket M4/M16 mags, this AEG will not disappoint you in any CQB environment.

Pros:
- Great CQB length and fps rating
- Ergonomic, comfortable handling
- Good weight
- Can accept most aftermarket accessories and internal/external upgrades
- Accurate at a human-sized target from 100ft away
- Unique design for an M4
- Rear iron sight fully adjustable for windage and distance

Cons:
- Highly built towards right-handed operators
- Mag release and fire selector switch not ambidextrous
- Battery compartment can be inconvenient to access
- Not much stock RIS room to add attachments
- If not wound up good enough, it tends to occasionally misfeed
by K. MCCRACKEN Date Added: Thursday 17 November, 2011
For: JG STAR Dragon AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
The JG S.T.A.R Dragon is modeled after a popular anime. S.T.A.R Stands for Special Tactics And Rescue.
However, this gun is modeled after it's it's name. Perfect for CQB and Close range field combat and hostage situations, this gun delivers. Since this gun Is made by JG, you know this gun has the best for it's quality, basically more bang for it's buck, guaranteed.

Personal Experience:
I have used and looked inside this gun and I can say it's worth more than 170, mostly $240. It has a high rate of fire with either 8.4 or 9.6 volt batteries.

it's comfortable and is the same size as an MP5. It's not, I repeat, not solid rubber, it's rubber coated plastic and will wear and tear faster than what a Wal-Mart gun can when a 11.1 LiPo is put in it. This is an easy fix with electrical tape. The battery type is a mini type and still is a little hard to put in when you first get it. However, with a little practice, you'll be able to get it in without trouble.

The mag is a hi-cap 190 rnd Vietnam style M16 type that you just might as well throw it out or claim it as your "Oh, $H!T" mag for when you ran out of ammo from your other mags.

The grip is made for right-handers' only, left-handers' will only be uncomfortable when shooting it.

The cheek-rest is comfy and you'll spend more time nuzzling it like a cat rather than engaging your enemy. it's a six position stock that fits both small 8-y-o players and large, COG like players alike. it's a little wiggly, but it's an easy fix.

Quality:
All black colors are rubber coated plastic
All Gray colors are made of really tough plastic which, if metal, it would be superbly heavy. It's called CQB or S.T.A.R for a reason.

The gear box is a type 2 gearbox with reinforced front end.

This gun's base is an M4 Stubby, so if you used that gun before, you'll have no trouble with it.

The mag is crap.

All-in-all, it's a good gun for intermediate players interested in CQB and close range field combat. It's light, comfy, and maneuverable.

4.5 stars for me. I enjoy using this gun and when I wear my samurai armour with it, I feel beastly.

Pros:
Light
Comfy
Maneuverable
JG quality
Comes with:
gun
charger
battery
190 rnd mag
wind-up tool
a 14 mm ccw suppressor adapter

Needs:

M16 carrying handle rail mount
Spare mags
scope/sight
Suppressor
Rails
Dual Mag clip for M4

Cons:
Rubber coated Plastic wears and tears (easy fix)
Battery compartment is too small (with training, you'll get the hang of it
190 rnd mag is crap, use only in emergencies or throw it out.
small (maybe a con for larger players)

Iron sights don't go down far enough to get a good bead on where the BBs will be traveling. A sight will fix this.

Shape (Is not a con for me)
Right handed only (not a con for me)
The stock must be extended far enough so the Hope up can be 100% exposed
Needs a aftermarket upgrade in internals if you want a LiPo gun that will not wear as soon as you get it.

More rails. (not a problem seeing how super glue or screws work wonders wonders when you put these to the sides of the gun)
by G. GROSSHUESCH verified buyer Date Added: Friday 26 June, 2009
verified buyer
For: JG STAR Dragon AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
When i first saw this gun I was shocked to find that such a cool looking gun was even made. After reading all the other review I decided that this would be my next gun. So finally the time came and i ordered it. When I got it I put in a battery and BBs and opened up on the trees out side my window. much to my surprise the gun was extremely accurate and fast. After hitting every tree 20 to 150 feet away within the first 3 attempts I decided to see how strong it was. I got a cardboard and a plastic box. The gun ripped thought both with ease. When I put the guns battery in it was slightly improved. I found that the battery was hard to put it at first. So i switched the side the cord was on and it made it fit well. This gun is super comfy but it is completely right handed. If your a left hand be warned. The clip stopped working so I got a larger clip. Also the picture gives the gun a silver look, its actually a lot darker.
Over all this gun is awesome and I am super glad a purchased it.

Pros:
amazing look
accurate
fast
powerful
comfortable
good price
strong plastic

Cons:
clip
left hand
original battery cord placement
by J. BORON verified buyer Date Added: Tuesday 02 June, 2009
verified buyer
For: JG STAR Dragon AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
I bought this gun roughly a year ago to replace a cheap wellfire r8. I bought it mainly because of the overwhelming result of positive reviews it received on airsoftgi and youtube. Even with the positive feedback, I was still suspicious to see how it performed. When it finally arrived I was immediately impressed with the feel of the quality. The stock rattles a bit (Which still drives me nuts) but everything else is EXTREMELY solid. It is completely plastic except for a few parts which might draw some people away but it is much more solid than any other gun in this price range. However this is still a low budget AEG and if you are looking for something to use in competitions or tournaments I would recommend a CA or ICS. But if you're like me and just want it for weekend brawls and messing around with friends then it's perfect.

Pros:
Rate of Fire
FPS
Accuracy (Not good for woods but excellent for CQB)
Length (Good for cornering)
Weight

Cons:
Battery (Awkward to install)
Clip (Tends to misfeed but easily solved by buying a good CA m16 clip)
RIS rails (Lack thereof, difficulty to install)
All- plastic (Might be con for some people)
by C. SULLIVAN-IRWIN verified buyer Date Added: Wednesday 01 April, 2009
verified buyer
For: JG STAR Dragon AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
I purchased this gun last June. I love this gun. I used to use a BE Steyur AUG, and it was nice and all, but when i got this I was actually useful for my team, with a great K/D rating. The custom framework is beautiful, and the front handle is very ergonomic. My favorite gun I own to date.

Pros:
Great FPS
Amazing accuracy for size

Cons:
Battery is incredibly hard to get to
Mounting a scope was hard, and I went through 2 rail raisers before Ifound one that works
Goes through bbs like water (could also be a pro i guess)
Still havent found replacement mags
by A. BULKELEY Date Added: Sunday 29 March, 2009
For: JG STAR Dragon AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
This Gun is GREAT. It has a great rate of fire and the accuracy is awesome. The battery installation is fine, its not any reason to not get this gun. The Rubberized parts are awesome, the stock is comfortable to rest you cheek on. The handle is EXTREMELY comfortable. The only bad thing is that it is HEAV. If anyone has used a Tippman 98 Custom, this gun is like 1 1/2 of that weight.

Pros:
Great accuracy
Great ROF
VERY comfortable
Ok sights (I would suggest a mounting rail and a red dot sight



Cons:
HEAVY
Battery installation is kinda hard (I just bought a 9.6v 2200mah battery in a PEQ2 Battery box. I wired the battery out of the little piece by the front sight, and it works great.
by S. WHITAKER verified buyer Date Added: Monday 20 October, 2008
verified buyer
For: JG STAR Dragon AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
Having bought & used two of these for a while now i can say this fancy gun is worth the money overall. it's easy to grip & easy to manuver. the battery compartment can fit an intech 8.4v 1400mah battery though it can be a bit snug. Though the lack of mounting rails is dissapointing, i can still fit a grenade luancher on the short rail under the barrel. Don't try using a Drum mag with this. it wont fit unless you cut off a bit of the frame. so if your looking for a gun to accesorise this not a prime canadate. but it shoudn't ever need much more than a scope & flashlight/laser anyways. so if your looking for a gun with good performance & unique looks i'd say you found it.

Pros:
high ROF
Good FPS
Firm grip pionts
hand rail accepts a mounting rail attachment.

Cons:
1 short mounting rail
by V. VILLASENOR verified buyer Date Added: Saturday 12 July, 2008
verified buyer
For: JG STAR Dragon AEG Airsoft Gun
I don't know about the guy below me he may have just gotten a bad seed but this gun is kickass. Right out of the box my rate of fire was extremely good and I was actually a bit shocked on how fast this thing sprayed. The gun is very well built and has a good solid feeling when shouldered and the crazy looking stalk is very useful when resting your head on it. There are a lot of complaints about how the battery installation is a pain to deal with but its a given but after you find your own way of getting the little bugger in there your fine. I can get mine in within under a minute now without rushing. You’ll either like this gun or you won't but if you decide to go and get one I guarantee you won't be disappointed.
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back Write Review

Out of Stock

Copyright © 2014 Airsoft GI
Airsoft GI CAGE CODE   See Airsoft GI Reviews at Bizrate.com
Disclaimer: All airsoft guns are required to have the tip (1/4 inch) of the barrel permanently colored in blaze orange. No person may openly display or expose any imitation firearm (replica firearm), in a public place. The term "public place" means an area open to the public or exposed to public view and includes streets, sidewalks, bridges, alleys, plazas, parks, driveways, parking lots, automobiles, whether moving or not, and buildings open to the general public, including those that serve food or drink, or provide entertainment, and the doorways and entrances to buildings or dwellings and the grounds enclosing them.
Any person who changes, alters, removes, or obliterates any coloration or markings that are required for by any applicable state or federal law or regulation, for any imitation firearm (replica firearm), or device in any way that makes the imitation firearm (replica firearm) or device look more like a firearm is guilty of violating the state or federal law.
By accessing the Site, you certify that you are older than 18 years of age or the age of majority where you live, whichever is older; that you are the owner of any credit card used to purchase on items on the Site; that you are familiar with all local laws in your area affecting your legal right to access airsoft products; that any products you buy are for your own private enjoyment and that you will NEVER share these products with a minor in ANY WAY.

DB5 Current Parse Time: 0.343 s with 27 queries