0 items
New Products
Restocked
Pre-Order Products
GI Shockers

Manufacturers

CQB Spotlight Field Spotlight Sniper Spotlight
UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (ACU)
[02793 / SOFTS368RH]
$169.99
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 55 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  [Next >>] 
by C. SONES verified buyer Date Added: Wednesday 02 July, 2014
verified buyer
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (ACU)
Product Information:
The gun itself is a great gun for the cost. People that are weaker than normal shouldn't get this gun, it's about 11 pounds and the bolt might be hard to pull for weaker people. If you are a weaker person physically, and you really want to get a sniper, go with gas or electric. For a price of 150$ this gun is great, but for certain people.

Pros:
Accurate
Hits hard
Comes with paint-job
Sturdy build
Heavier weight(easier to aim when prone)


Cons:
Bipod is weak and not sturdy
Comes to greased, takes a little cleaning
Orange tip is hard to take off, I recommend either painting it or cover it in black tape
by C. ROOSENBERG verified buyer Date Added: Monday 10 February, 2014
verified buyer
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (ACU)
Product Information:
Great gun. I bought this gun as a platform gun and I could not be happier. It is good enough quality that you can upgrade in stages and never feel out of the game. Shoots hard and accurate. Bed ready to get a sling on it though.

Pros:
Good platform
gun feels sturdy
A lot of upgrade potential if the l96 is the looks you like

Cons:
I painted mine and changed out the trigger box early on. Also added some more rails and barrel upgrades. I like that you can really make this gun look unique.
by J. WOODHEAD Date Added: Thursday 05 December, 2013
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (ACU)
Product Information:
I LOVE this gun. I've had it for over a year now and its been flawless. Alone this was a great gun but i decided to take it to the next level by getting the upgrade kit which raised the fps considerably. This gun is very popular so its VERY easy to find replacement parts. Its dead on accurate and my brother has gone two against twenty with his coworker with a dragunov and won.

Pros:
accurate
awesome looking
nice fps
easy to find parts


Cons:
Cheap sling
had to replace plastic trigger box
might be too badass for unexpecting minds
by A. KEMPER Date Added: Monday 28 October, 2013
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (ACU)
Product Information:
A friend of mine owns this gun. His father bought it for him, but he does not use it much, because he prefers an assault rifle. I use it very frequently and I have to say, it is something else. The weight is lovely, very realistic, and the smooth bolt is just fantastic. If I had 170$ to shell out for a rifle, this would be the gun I'd buy.

Pros:
The magazine, though plastic, is very sturdy, and fits perfectly.
The adjustable stock is great, particularly since my arms are a little longer that most guns are designed for.
The trigger pull is a very short, which is nice for rapid acquisition and firing.
The fact that it comes with a bipod is very nice, even though it doesn't fit my playing style.
Very nice metal bolt.

Cons:
A tad slow to reload the magazine, due to the design of the gun.
Fairly small magazine.
The trigger pull is a little hard, which isn't a problem for me, but for younger players or the lightly built this could be a problem.
by C. KURTZ Date Added: Friday 26 August, 2011
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (ACU)
Product Information:
I got this gun used and it has done an okay job. The gun bone stock is nothing special, but who gets a sniper to run it stock, right? Now to the review. It will be judged on externals, internals and game performance.

Externals

First off, the ACU is distorted and ugly. It will be getting a new paint job. The bolt is very nice and has an easy pull back. The metal outer barrel is good quality and won't break on you. The thumbhole is VERY comfortable to hold and the gun has great balancing and weight. The sling mounts are thick metal and won't snap. The adjustable cheek rest and rubber butt plate are a nice touch. The bipod lug wobbles but it stays in and is a nice extra they added. The scope I run on this gun is a Leapers 4x32 illuminated scope with low profile mounts and it makes the gun look amazing. Overall, it is good externally but it could be better if the ACU wasn't crappy.

Internals

The guns stock internals are ok at best. It has a very easy dissasembly, which always nice. First off the cylinder is nice metal and will stay with the gun. The piston and spring guide are plastic. However, they work very nicely and unless they break, won't be replaced. The hop-up is a PAIN to adjust but works nicely. Maybe a PDI hop-up goes in later if problems occur. The barrel is a standard brass barrel. The crowning is okay on it. Just got in a Madbull 6.01 tightbore to give it better accuracy and range. You will see why in the performance breakdown. The FPS is around 430 with .20s once the spring settles. The sear set and the trigger box will be replaced with the Precision Engineered metal one sometime soon. This isn't highly needed, just what I want in my gun. Overall, it gets the job done and can be highly upgraded if wanted, which is always nice.

Gameplay Performance

First time using it I landed a 180 ft kill with a well-aimed shot with a light breeze. After that it was all downhill from there. The gun started shooting left, VERY LEFT. Which is why I got the Tightbore barrel. (Highly recomend that as your first upgrade to this gun) Max range is about 180-190 ft, but with it shooting left it is a crap shoot if you'll hit anything. Overall, I was dissapointed with stock preformance on this rifle. With accuracy the way it was I would get a tightbore barrel right away.

Overall, I would give this gun a 4 out of 5. Performance was lack-luster with the horrible accuracy and the terrible ACU paint job didn't help. However, it is built solid and it takes to upgrade parts very nicely, which can fix the cons listed above. If you are looking for a good project this is a great platform, but if you want a sniper to play with right out of the box, stay away from this gun and get a vsr-10, bar-10, ect..


Pros:
Built solid
Very ballanced
Smooth and easy bolt pull
Takes well to upgrades
FPS is field legal for where I play (Under 500 fps)
Comes with a tri-rail bipod lug
Easy Dissasembly

Cons:
ACU paint job looks like it was done by a two year old
Gun shoots WAY left with stock barrel
Hop-up is a pain to adjust and would be hard to do in the middle of a skirmish or a big Operation
by G. CALVERT Date Added: Sunday 19 December, 2010
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (ACU)
Product Information:
When i got this gun i immediately liked it, it looks great, it has a pretty good weight to it, i have had it for about a year and used it in about seven matches, it has performed very well, ive actually dropped it a few times, and besides a few scratches its fine, it has a great fps because in our matches we have a 500 fps limit for single shot weapons so its perfect, the only problem i have had has been that the mags sometimes dont always go in, or come a little lose on one end, but i dont know if this is due to me dropping the gun, or just a problem, but besides that, and the crappy strap it comes with ( caused me to drop it the first time ) it is an awesome gun, has awesome range and accuracy, works best with .20 or .25 gram bbs

Pros:
High fps
Great accuracy
Looks good
Durable
Nice weight
Handles good

Cons:
Comes with a crappy strap that breaks easily
Clips get loose sometimes
May be too heavy for some people
by D. MARKEY verified buyer Date Added: Wednesday 13 October, 2010
verified buyer
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (ACU)
Product Information:
When I first got this gun I was a little disappointed with the quality of the plastic body, it has some sharp edges and the paint job looks really cheap. However, once I took it apart and cleaned all of the excess grease off of the bolt internals, bolt, and barrel. This thing shot strong. I was able to hit a cereal box sized target everytime from a measured distance of 150 ft. I was using .36 gram bb's. I also got the bolt upgrade with it and let me tell you, that takes this gun from a decent gun to a real competitor. I saw huge gains in FPS, and the bolt kit wasn't any harder then the stock bolt to pull. Overall I'm very impressed with this gun, I can ignore the quality of the plastic seams for what this gun delivers. As long as you take the time to clean it out from the factory, this gun can be great. I see alot of complaints about the bipod being too loose as well. This is true, but its meant to be that way. Also I found that if you tighten the screws on the bipod itself, this will help a lot with a play, and a little bit of electrical tape on the insert pin makes it a lot stiffer.

Again I recomend cleaning off 90% of the grease on this gun, its way overdone, but the guns fantastic now that I did. Also when you take the bolt apart to clean it add some teflon tape to the brass nipple and you'll see a decent fps increase as well. Last piece of info, the hop up unit on this gun is essentially useless its crap, leave it off completely. I find the bb's are much more on target with it off.

Also before reinstalling the bolt grease the back block you'll see a good amount of metal on metal wear there for the first 100 shots or so. Once the metal is worn good the bolt moves much more freely.

Pros:
Good FPS
Can easily mod
Lots of available cheap mods
takes .36 gram bb's like a champ with bolt kit installed.


Cons:
Quality of plastic (lots of sharp edges, I found the hand grip the worst place)
Paint job...stick to the black or OD, ACU scheme looks cheap.
No scope included
Hop up SUCKS on this gun, just spend the 35-45 dollar and get a tight bore barrel you wont need to worry about the hopup
by W. FELDMAN verified buyer Date Added: Friday 01 October, 2010
verified buyer
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (ACU)
Product Information:
When I first got this gun I was blown away. The camo looks great and the fps is good. If what youre planning on doing with this gun is shooting cans off of a fence, its a great gun. If you want to take it into the field it's not all that great.

A sniper's biggest advantage is range and this gun's advantage just isn't that significant. What ends up happening to you is that you have a single shot rifle that can shoot around 450 fps. Your friends have guns that shoot around 400 automatically. That means that your gun doesn't give you a range advantage and you're left with being single shot. I've heard that the spring upgrade can get this gun shooting up to 700 fps. If it's true than this gun might be worth the 170, but with the way it is I wouldn't buy it.

Pros:
Looks good
Nice weight

It's a really cool gun if you're friends are not using automatic weapons

Cons:
Doesn't give you a real advantage
Bi-pod falls off really easily
For the money you can find a lot better
by K. BELLNIER verified buyer Date Added: Tuesday 17 August, 2010
verified buyer
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (ACU)
Product Information:
I got this gun about a week ago and right off the bat everything was a little stiff and wasnt very smooth. Within an hour the bolt was working smoothly and it was dead accurate with .25s from about 150 feet away. The assembly was very easy and it hurts ALOT. This thin does 420 fps with .25s and 480fps with .20s, thats ALOT of power. Im gonna get the upgrade kit and see how good it is with that and how my friends will like it:D

Pros:
-Accurate with .25s
-High fps
-ACU looks great
-GREAT sniper for the money, i would reccomend to ANYONE.
-Heavy(Could be a con for some)
-Easy assembly

Cons:
-Bipod sucks
-Stiff out of box
-NONE REALLY AWESOME SNIPER!!!!!!!
by W. FELDMAN verified buyer Date Added: Monday 02 August, 2010
verified buyer
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (ACU)
Product Information:
When I first got this gun I was blown away by it's realistic length and weight. It's probably twenty pounds and just a little over five feet long. I did a lot of research on sniper rifles before I bought one, and for the money there isn't a better one on the planet. It is SOOOO quiet. I emptied a clip at one of my friends, who was sitting in a window, from 45 feet away and he had no idea where I was.

I'm not sure if it is a pro or a con, but with .3 g bb's the bb's travel so quickly that it's actually slightly difficult to tell where your bb is hitting.

People talk about how the bipod is wobbly. This is true, it is very wobbly. This isn't a defect, however. It is meant to be that way to free movement and maneuverability.

I put a scope on it and it is DEAD accurate at 120 feet. The rail on the front of the gun isn't the best though so you have to make sure that your scope stays put. Overall this gun is terrific and I would recommend it to anyone who prefers precision over fully automatic.

Pros:
Camouflage looks pretty fair (although not as good as the picture online)
Very accurate
Shoots fairly hard
Realistic
SOOOO quiet. Chambering the round actually makes more noise than shooting
For the money the gun is REALLY worth it


Cons:
slightly heavy
rail isn't the best
Rather hard to tell when you run out of bb's while you're shooting, so you may find yourself dry firing without realizing it.
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 55 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  [Next >>] 
Back Write Review

Add to Cart

Copyright © 2014 Airsoft GI
Airsoft GI CAGE CODE   See Airsoft GI Reviews at Bizrate.com
Disclaimer: All airsoft guns are required to have the tip (1/4 inch) of the barrel permanently colored in blaze orange. No person may openly display or expose any imitation firearm (replica firearm), in a public place. The term "public place" means an area open to the public or exposed to public view and includes streets, sidewalks, bridges, alleys, plazas, parks, driveways, parking lots, automobiles, whether moving or not, and buildings open to the general public, including those that serve food or drink, or provide entertainment, and the doorways and entrances to buildings or dwellings and the grounds enclosing them.
Any person who changes, alters, removes, or obliterates any coloration or markings that are required for by any applicable state or federal law or regulation, for any imitation firearm (replica firearm), or device in any way that makes the imitation firearm (replica firearm) or device look more like a firearm is guilty of violating the state or federal law.
By accessing the Site, you certify that you are older than 18 years of age or the age of majority where you live, whichever is older; that you are the owner of any credit card used to purchase on items on the Site; that you are familiar with all local laws in your area affecting your legal right to access airsoft products; that any products you buy are for your own private enjoyment and that you will NEVER share these products with a minor in ANY WAY.

DB4 Current Parse Time: 0.194 s with 33 queries