0 items
New Products
Restocked
Pre-Order Products
GI Shockers

Manufacturers

CQB Spotlight Field Spotlight Sniper Spotlight
(Discontinued) G&G UMG AEG Airsoft Gun
[02649 / EGU-001]
$305.00
Displaying 11 to 17 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2 
by B. ANDREYEV Date Added: Wednesday 09 July, 2008
For: (Discontinued) G&G UMG AEG Airsoft Gun
I have had this gun for about 9 months now. Overall it is very accurate and has a nice rate of fire. It is on the somewhat heavier side of SMGs but is still ergonomic. It also makes a very loud firing noise when you set it off (which is neat really).

As mentioned in a previous review it is probably worth it to remove the battery door between the stock and the rest of the gun if you intend to use it with the stock unfolded. It makes putting the battery in or taking it out easier, as well as letting you field strip the gun easier since you don't have to watch out for the battery connector getting stuck under the said door.

The internals have held up admirably and function almost as new - I have had to replace the spring twice because of the gradual loss of tension but not any of the other parts.

Unfortunately the externals are a bit less durable when put under stress - the nylon part right above the muzzle broke off (presumably because of too much HK-slapping the bolt), and the charging handle broke off soon after (mostly because the plastic that stopped the bolt before was missing and all of the tension fell on the handle). Both of these issues did not really impede operation at all but obviously did not make it look so great anymore. The replacement parts for both these problems can found on the G&G website through contacting them.
by L. TAFLINGER Date Added: Monday 07 July, 2008
For: (Discontinued) G&G UMG AEG Airsoft Gun
This is a pretty sweet gun. Sure it doesnt really have the best range in the world but it gets the job done. I love how the battery is in a nice compact spot, and how the mag just goes straight in unlike an M4. Has a nice ROF but bad range once again for outdoor use. If you want,I did this to mine, is take of the stock completly so you dont have it sticking out on the side. Just simply unscrew it. This way its more comfortable on a sling if used as backup (backup for my M4). Too bad mines getting repaired right now, My entire hop-up system was screwed up so now I need a new (and better) hop-up and precision barrel.
by K. TAYLOR Date Added: Thursday 17 April, 2008
For: (Discontinued) G&G UMG AEG Airsoft Gun
i was one of the unlucky fellows to own this weapon. i fired 7 shots, then the gearbox locked up. i won it at an airsoft event, so i couldn't return the gun, so i paid a guy to fix it. it now fires 280 fps :( . but i know at least 3 other people who own this gun and for them it works great for them.
by J. FLORES Date Added: Friday 21 December, 2007
For: (Discontinued) G&G UMG AEG Airsoft Gun
I have had this gun for about a month or two, and it is by far the best gun I have. This gun is awesome on every level. Needs a special battery that is a double stack AA, but my friend and I figured out a way around that problem.
Just remove the back door buy opening the gun up and pushing it out. You may need to apply pressure inwards to get it to come loose. After the door comes off it is no problem for a single stack battery to get in there.

This gun has a great firing rate, and does anything you need it to. If you are a CQB person, GET THIS GUN. That is my specialty and this gun is like a part of me in battle.

Needs for this gun:
Vertical grip for balance
Battery that can fit inside, because it is no fun using it with the stock folded in.
9.6 battery for good fire rate
LOTS OF BBS, because you fly through the high-cap like nothing.
by E. DECKER Date Added: Wednesday 05 December, 2007
For: (Discontinued) G&G UMG AEG Airsoft Gun
I just got my gun about a week ago and i experienced one problem. The battery that i got was a 8.4v 1100 from trinity and when it was in the compartment the hopup would not go back because the battery was in the way, not to bad of a problem, also i agree with the other dude, GET the 9.6v 2000 its much better!!! however the accuracy is awesome and the range of fire is not bad, yet it is a cqb weapon. the rate of fire is not that good so get the 9.6v 2000.

Pros
great accuracy
very very manuevarable and compact(nothing moves)
hicap is actually around 500 and is a very good amount for any kind of battle
lightweight

Cons
needs a better battery for better shooting and rate of fire

Overall this gun is very good, i recommend this gun to anyone who wants to be close quarters.
by R. HOWARD Date Added: Tuesday 27 November, 2007
For: (Discontinued) G&G UMG AEG Airsoft Gun
I made a mistake in my previous review. I have a Guarder SP110 AEG spring in my UMG, I didn't catch that typo...sorry!
by R. HOWARD Date Added: Monday 26 November, 2007
For: (Discontinued) G&G UMG AEG Airsoft Gun
This replica is awesome. It is by far, the best AEG I have ever handled, and I have handled many. Ranging from CA MP5's and M4/M16's up to ECHO1 MP5's and G36's. This is by far the best built AEG I have had experience with.

PROS:
1) Excellent internal/external quality. The real steel version of this SMG (UMP) is fiber glass, so I'm glad G&G stuck with ABS plastic for the body. The internals are of much higher quality than Tokyo Marui and Classic Army. The metal stock internals that came with the gun have lasted me around 40,000 rounds with no replacements other than the hopup unit. The gears are steel, not pot metal, and very strong. The piston is not plastic, it's polycarbonate much like a Guarder piston used for upgrades. The piston head is a strong plastic that has lasted as well.

2) Outstanding performance. This gun had about a 700RPM w/ an 8.4V battery. I would consider that average for a stock AEG, however when I put a custom 9.6V 2000mAh battery in it. It shot it up to around 900RPM. That's w/ stock internals! The G&G UMG chrono'd at 330-340 FPS w/ Airsoft Elite .2g BB's. The accuracy was very impressive. The UMG comes STOCK with a 6.04mm inner barrel. That's considered a tightbore. It can hit a pop can from 50 ft consistently, and a sheet of paper consistently from 150 ft.

3) Durability is excellent as well. I have put around 75,000 rounds through my UMG, and have had only one minor external problem. The catch on the bolt snapped off after a while, but it can be replaced from ordering a new bolt for around $25.

4) It's UNIQUE! I don't know about you, but I get sick of seeing M4/M16 variants and MP5's. Sure, they're great guns, they look good, and they perform well. So does the UMG, and not every Joe-Schmo has one...It's a unique choice, and a rather sexy one.


CONS:
1) Certain aftermarket stock parts for this replica can be difficult to find at times, it's not your normal M4/M16 variant where parts can be found anywhere, but they can be found, if you know where to look.

2) Battery life is somewhat limited because of the small compartment used to store the battery, you are limited to a stick or custom type of battery. The Intellect 9.6V 2000mAh (in a double stack formation) is the highest voltage and mAh capacity I have seen for a battery that will fit in the UMG.

CONCLUSION:
Overall, if you're looking for a unique CQB airsoft replica, I would highly recommend this gun. It doesn't need a lot of repair work, so it works for a newbie to airsoft, and it accepts most Version 3 Gearbox upgrade parts for the more expirienced player.

For your enjoyment I will list what I have done to my UMG over the time I have had it:

Internals:
*Systema High Speed Gear set for Ver 3
*Systema Polycarbonate Piston for Ver 3
*Guarder SP 130 enhanced AEG spring
*Custom Intellect 9.6V 2000mAh battery
*Systema silicone hopup w/ bucking
*Custom work on the hopup and C-clamp

Externals:
*Dees Customs Barrel- 6.01mm tightbore, 208mm length
*M16 ergonomic pistol grip for the bottom rail
*Opticess/PHX Panorama Multi-Reticule Reflex Sight
*Custom work on the battery compartment to house battery

STATS:
*Chronos at 380FPS w/ a .2
*~950RPM w/ 9.6V
*3-inch groupings at 180ft (no wind) w/ Dees Customs barrel
Displaying 11 to 17 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2 
Back Write Review

Add to Cart

Copyright © 2014 Airsoft GI
Airsoft GI CAGE CODE   See Airsoft GI Reviews at Bizrate.com
Disclaimer: All airsoft guns are required to have the tip (1/4 inch) of the barrel permanently colored in blaze orange. No person may openly display or expose any imitation firearm (replica firearm), in a public place. The term "public place" means an area open to the public or exposed to public view and includes streets, sidewalks, bridges, alleys, plazas, parks, driveways, parking lots, automobiles, whether moving or not, and buildings open to the general public, including those that serve food or drink, or provide entertainment, and the doorways and entrances to buildings or dwellings and the grounds enclosing them.
Any person who changes, alters, removes, or obliterates any coloration or markings that are required for by any applicable state or federal law or regulation, for any imitation firearm (replica firearm), or device in any way that makes the imitation firearm (replica firearm) or device look more like a firearm is guilty of violating the state or federal law.
By accessing the Site, you certify that you are older than 18 years of age or the age of majority where you live, whichever is older; that you are the owner of any credit card used to purchase on items on the Site; that you are familiar with all local laws in your area affecting your legal right to access airsoft products; that any products you buy are for your own private enjoyment and that you will NEVER share these products with a minor in ANY WAY.

DB5 Current Parse Time: 0.355 s with 30 queries