0 items
New Products
Restocked
Pre-Order Products
Doorbusters/Shockers

Manufacturers

CQB Spotlight Field Spotlight Sniper Spotlight
UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (BLK)
[02111 / SOFTS368BH]
$169.99
Displaying 11 to 20 (of 100 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5 ...  [Next >>] 
by A. LU Date Added: Friday 18 June, 2010
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (BLK)
Product Information:
Fairly good...while it worked. For some reason, the barrel might have been offset to the left, so the gun consistently shot to the left with .3g BBs. Also, the gun's hop up somehow slid partially behind the hole it was contained in, so it was impossible to adjust the hop up. I probably got a lemon, RMAing to Airsoft GI right now.

Pros:
Full Metal
Accurate (according to everyone else)
Nice finish on the stock
Comfortable grip

Cons:
Bad consistency on mine
Hop up
TERRIBLE accuracy so far
by R. PFEIL Date Added: Wednesday 02 June, 2010
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (BLK)
Product Information:
i really like the L96. it is a really good gun for beginers. the bipod can break easily though, at least mine did. but u can fix it by putting hot glue in the screw on the bottom. the guns accuracy ehhh, i tried adjusting the hop up as best as i can. even as it is the hopup is not in a choice location and is hard to adjust. and when i did the shots were really inconsistant and hard to adjust the scope correctly. and after id say about 1000 shots. the fps and accuracy drops extreamly.

when i first bought this gun it could shoot through 2 cans and half way through a third. now it can only get half way through the second. but even then this gun has gettin me through some tough spots though. im not sure if the gun just seams inaccurate whenever im shootin at targets but iv gotten some "lucky" shots. from 100 ft away i some how got a head shot on this guy directly in the ear lobe and it got really red.

Pros:
looks cool
got me threw some tough spots
nice scope
decent bi pod
adjustable cheack plate and but stock

Cons:
pretty inconsistant shots
bi pod breaks easily (easy fix)
hard hop up adjusting
by H. UENO verified buyer Date Added: Monday 05 April, 2010
verified buyer
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (BLK)
Product Information:
Alright so first off all I have to say about this gun is that it shoots HARD. I hit a friend at about 70ft in the neck and he bled for about an hour. If you like causing chaos and pain this gun is just right for you. This is an amazing gun for it's cheap price. My friends are always scared if they are on the other team. If you shoot a man right next to them, have fun watching them run and cower in fear. I have hit my friend in the head at about 200ft with the hop up adjusted. This gun shoots about 460fps with a .28 bb which are dead accurate. I recommend a 3-9 zoom scope with this. Any scope would usually work. Even a red dot might work. Oh and always carry a reliable sidearm with this gun. You may get into close quarter situations.

Pros:
Shoots Hard
Free Bipod
Adjustable buttstock and cheekrest
Heavy (maybe a con for some but I love the weight)
Durable
Reliable

Cons:
The included sling was the only con I found on this gun.
by H. JANG Date Added: Sunday 21 March, 2010
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (BLK)
Product Information:
I can't believe it's been a month and I haven't reviewed this gun yet. Well I've put almost 500+ shots through it in a month, disassembled it 3 times, and it's holding like a beaut. It's big, mean, durable, heavy, hard hitting, accurate, and cheaper here @ASGI than other places. Read the Pros and Cons for more info.

Pros:
+Durable
+Scope is really nice but kinda hard to adjust, not a big problem at all
+Reliable
+Quiet, guys from 150+ feet away won't even be able to hear it
+BB whistling past your ear at 450+ FPS sounds sooo cool
+Hard-hitting at around 460FPS (mine settled to 440-450 but that's still pretty hard)
+Mags are metal, dropped mine from 4 feet onto cement and still worked
+Comes with 2 mags, you'll need that second mag, read the Cons for why
+Sling mounts are sturdy
+Accurate
+Bolt is really smooth and easy to pull for such a strong spring
+A lot of metal content
+Hop up is very responsive... sometimes a little TOO responsive
+Orange tip is tiny, almost unlikely to give your position away
+Thumbhole is comfy
+Cheek rest, adjustable buttstock, just nice ergonomics in general
+Range is really nice, I tagged someone from 300 feet away in a 5-8mph wind when only his head and upper torso was showing, though it took me a full mag to do it
+Better stock performance than JG Bar-10
+Intimidating
+Everyone wants you on their team because you have a "sniper rifle" and you must be the farthest ranged, most accurate guy. Not entirely true but hey, it feels good to be popular. :)
+Speedloader helps. DON'T LOSE IT. OR THE LITTLE PISTOL ADAPTER THAT COMES WITH IT.
+Safety is nice and responsive and clicks into place.
+Easy to disassemble the bolt function. But not the inner barrel or hop up.

Cons:
-Bipods are finicky and hard to instantly adjust
-Not precise (yes, there is a difference: accuracy is hitting on the dot, precision is how well it repeats that result. An accurate gun that is precise will hit the dot every time. An accurate non-precise gun will hit the dot frequently but sometimes miss completely. An inaccurate gun that is precise, which is more preferable to an accurate non-precise gun, is a gun that does not hit on the dot but will hit exactly where the previous bb hit.) Accurate but because the hop up is messed up it is not consistent especially beyond 100 feet. Though at 100 feet with an unadjusted scope I can hit a coke can in 2 shots.
-Orange tip is a pain to take off. THIS IS ILLEGAL SO DON'T DO IT UNLESS YOU HAVE TO, as in you need to upgrade or something. This will void your warranty AND get you shot by cops if you don't put the tip back on after you upgrade it.
-Upgrades are NOT cheap. Hop up unit alone is $70, zero trigger $200, tightbore 6.01mm is $50-80.
-A little hot for some fields
-Use only .28 gram or heavier bb's, .25's and under are tooooo light and will get blown away easily. Even my .30's got blown left and right at around 125 feet in a 5-8mph cross wind.
-Spring degrades a little quickly. Even a bag of 2000 bb's will go relatively quickly because you will have so much fun shooting this gun. And by that time your FPS will have dropped to around 420~ish with .20 gram's.
-Mags only hold 22-23 bb's. Yes, I counted. In fact I don't think I can even fit the 23rd in there without breaking the spring.
-Sling is crud. Burn it. Throw it away. Feed it to your dog. Do whatever you need in order to get rid of it.
by K. TURNER Date Added: Sunday 14 March, 2010
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (BLK)
Product Information:
Great solid gun, longest confirmed kill (upgraded) for me was 257 feet. Get the madbull barrel for it, upgrade kit makes her shoot 540-570 FPS get that to, later get the PDI hop-up chamber, systema bucking, and an SCS and use .40g Madbull's you Will be the MOST feared on the battle field.

I can hit a 3 inch pole from 140 feet pretty easily.

Pros:
-Good stock FPS
-Good accuracy
-One of the best if not the best spring Bolt action guns.
-Ton of potential
-Leapers/UTG has excellent customer service

Cons:
-enough grease comes on it to oil a 1970's truck
-not very consistant stock
-bad close range accuracy (but heck it is a sniper rifle right?)
by H. JANG Date Added: Tuesday 16 March, 2010
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (BLK)
Product Information:
It's only $140 here for the whole package??? I can't believe I bought it off of Evike for $145 w/out bipod!!! Well next time I'll definitely order from ASGI... Well on with the review.

This is a very sturdy, no wobble mean business rifle. It's quite heavy and the scope that comes with it, be it NC Star (which is the one I have) or ASGI scope, is very good, almost good enough to be used accurately on real steel firearms. The outer barrel, inner barrel, bolt housing, cylinder, cylinder head, spring, bolt, trigger, trigger sear, safety switch, inner frame, and the trigger box on the inside are all metal. The spring guide is a very strong polycarb spring guide and will last thousands of rounds. Inner barrel is 6.04mm tightbore brass, probably should be upgraded to 6.01mm for 200+feet shots. Bolt action is not the fastest but VERY smooth, no jerks, pretty easy to do even for a 12 year old (I'm actually a bit older and I can rack it in about 0.8 seconds). The buttpads are supposedly adjustable but mine aren't for some reason, but that's all right. The cheek rest is only recommended if you use scopes with high rise mounts, or if you don't use face masks. It can be removed. The safety works well and will last hours of clicking probably. Hop up is hard to adjust and downright impossible in the heat of battle but is very responsive (sometimes a bit too responsive). Use only high grade heavy bb's for this airsoft gun. Oh yeah did I mention it was hefty, long, a bit heavy, and slightly cumbersome? I guess those are its only major flaws.

Pros:
+Durable
+Reliable, because it's spring powered - no gas or batteries to fumble around with, no canisters or whatnot dying on you
+Bolt pull is smooth, sturdy, and relatively easy for a 460 FPS rifle
+460 FPS, but FPS is not always a good thing especially if you can't use 460 FPS guns under 50 feet for fear of making people bleed
+Scope is awesome
+Cheap at ASGI
+Initially it's pretty inconsistent for the first 100 shots or so, then when you adjust the hop up, use heavy bb's (nothing under .28 gram, I highly recommend .36's and .43's because the FPS "sacrifice" is actually a "gain", since heavy bb's retain their speed for a longer time and longer range, plus the added advantage of excellent accuracy), and clean out the inner barrel, this thing can get 1 inch groups at 40 feet, 3 inch groups at 80 feet, and torso shots 9/10 around 180 feet.
+Adjustable buttstock (didn't work for me but...)
+A lot of metal parts. Especially the trigger sear which is very strong and will withstand a lot of abuse. MUCH better metal internals than the JG Bar-10.
+Precision inner barrel unlike the M324 which has a ridiculous 6.14mm wide inner barrel, my brother's $40 LPEG could probably beat that
+Sling mounts are sturdy
+Mags are durable, pop out quickly and readily
+Easy to strip down in about 10 minutes
+Easy assembly
+Great performance STOCK, even better UPGRADED, but takes $$$$

Cons:
-Inconsistent at times, due to bad hop up, you'll get like 1 flyer out of every 10 or so shots
-Orange tip is hard to remove if you want to take out the inner barrel
-I burned the slings before they could creep up on my L96 and wreck it
-Mags run out fast, except when you play backyard. And contrary to what many stores would like you to believe THEY WILL NOT HOLD MORE THAN 23 ROUNDS. I COUNTED. If I tried to jam any more the spring would have broken or the mag would have split in half. NO THEY DO NOT HOLD 30 ROUNDS... those liars. lol
-Not an uber 1337 sn1pz0r r1ffle that many people think. Good accuracy. But needs a tightbore and a good hop up to do any damage beyond 200 feet.

If you're just looking to have fun and plink around with a 460 FPS gun get it. If THIS IS YOUR FIRST TIME PLAYING AIRSOFT DO YOURSELF A FAVOR: 99% of all PRO airsofters would agree that getting an AEG is your best bet. Because 80% of the time, airsoft sniper rifles CAN be matched by AEG's in range. And I've seen it before. Not very comforting for the sniper. SNIPING IS ONLY FOR EXPERIENCED PEOPLE. Trust me you will not regret getting a good $140 AEG instead of this if it's your first time. Though if you already own an AEG get the L96; it won't hurt. Except to your friends. heh heh heh

Also for further notice: UTG rebrands their guns and modifies them sometimes. They do NOT have their own company churning away making guns. The UTG L96 = Well L96 = TSD L96. The Double Eagle L96 and the AGM L96 are inferior in quality and performance and are different guns altogether.
by A. REITZ verified buyer Date Added: Wednesday 23 December, 2009
verified buyer
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (BLK)
Product Information:
Well, This gun as stated in other reviews IS A BEAST!!!!!! Its extremley easy to put together, all you have to do is push the 2 ends together and take the allen wrench and tighten! It holds up verry well and is accurate. If you have to use .20's then you shouldn't need alot of hop up, maby like 1/2" twist if that. I use .30 and they fly perfectly. The gun is pretty light. The bolts and cracks are kinda a pain but you can just puddy them and paint. The gun's bolt is kinda hard at first but then its better.

Pros:
Very Strong

Very Durable: I left mine in the rain by accident, let it dry and put it back together and worked perfectly.

Cheep

People say the bipod is wobley but its ment to be like that so you can turn.

Easy to put together

Orange tip is pretty easy to get off, just put hot water in a bowl and let the tip rest for about 10 - 15 min. then just pull off.

Cons:
Little bulky but doesn't bother me...

Bolt is HUMUNGUS so it doesnt fit in a case well.

Theres a little pin in the bolt so it can pivot and if cocked about 85 degrees, it can fall out, I lost it and had to put a piece of metal coat hanger in it...

Magazine is a little tricking at first, it seems like you loaded it but after like 10 shots nothing is
comming out so you have to push the speedloader in it HARD.
by J. JOHNSON Date Added: Monday 23 November, 2009
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (BLK)
Product Information:
This sniper rifle is GREAT for any intermediate player. I use the .25 b.b.s and it is VERY accurate and has Very good velocity. throw a scope on this sucker and you'll be all set to go. when i first got this gun, i wasn't to crazy about it, but now after playing a few games, im IN LOVE with it. make sure you use .25's or above!!!!! .25's curve after about 130, 150 feet but ive sniped people from a good 175 feet away. maybe .26's would be wise, but i like the .25's

Pros:
-Good fps
-Good acuracy
-looks super badass
-Durable
-fairly quiet


Cons:
-the bi-pod is so wobbly i do not even use it.
- the screw for the bolt action thing comes loose after a few games, just a phillips head does the trick, no big deal.
- gets a bit heavy, but what do you expect.


I HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHHHLLLYYY RECOMMEND!!!!!!!
by A. LAFLEUR Date Added: Sunday 15 November, 2009
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (BLK)
Product Information:
I bought this gun off a friend who ordered it from ASGI a while back. I used it in a skirmish the other day when my L85's battery died. This gun has amazing range and I was getting kills with it even without the scope on. I don't think there's anything wrong with this gun except a bit of grease on the bolt that got on my glove. Scope is great, bipod is great, there are two safety mechanisms which is kinda cool. I don't even know where the hopup is though. Also, be careful, without the orange tip this gun looks real from a distance so you should definitely get a carrying case

Pros:
-extreme range
-nice scope and bipod
-you will look badass with this gun


Cons:
-plastic(it don't bother me
-can't find the hopup
-bolt pulls a little hard
by A. FITZPATRICK verified buyer Date Added: Tuesday 10 November, 2009
verified buyer
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (BLK)
Product Information:
I have had this gun for like 6 months, it has taken quite a beating over that time and it still hurts like a bitch! I shoots at around 430- 450 fps still! The only problem is it didnt come with a scope, but theyre not that expensive, (30 dollar scope will do fine) it is heavy once you've hauled it for a while The bipod is very wobbly. It has a full metal body. The trigger guard is cool. The cheek rest feels great. It comes pre-oiled so it is easy to cock. It is a bolt-action beast that you've been waiting.


Pros:
Bipod
Full metal
Trigger guard
Cheek rest is comfortable
Top rail for optics
Removable rails in front
Strong
Sexy
Stings like a bitch
Friends call it the elephant gun w/ 0.25s


Cons:
Heavy after awhile
Wobbly bipod
Doesn't come with scope
Displaying 11 to 20 (of 100 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5 ...  [Next >>] 
Back Write Review

Out of Stock

Copyright © 2014 Airsoft GI
Airsoft GI CAGE CODE   See Airsoft GI Reviews at Bizrate.com
Disclaimer: All airsoft guns are required to have the tip (1/4 inch) of the barrel permanently colored in blaze orange. No person may openly display or expose any imitation firearm (replica firearm), in a public place. The term "public place" means an area open to the public or exposed to public view and includes streets, sidewalks, bridges, alleys, plazas, parks, driveways, parking lots, automobiles, whether moving or not, and buildings open to the general public, including those that serve food or drink, or provide entertainment, and the doorways and entrances to buildings or dwellings and the grounds enclosing them.
Any person who changes, alters, removes, or obliterates any coloration or markings that are required for by any applicable state or federal law or regulation, for any imitation firearm (replica firearm), or device in any way that makes the imitation firearm (replica firearm) or device look more like a firearm is guilty of violating the state or federal law.
By accessing the Site, you certify that you are older than 18 years of age or the age of majority where you live, whichever is older; that you are the owner of any credit card used to purchase on items on the Site; that you are familiar with all local laws in your area affecting your legal right to access airsoft products; that any products you buy are for your own private enjoyment and that you will NEVER share these products with a minor in ANY WAY.

DB1 Current Parse Time: 0.236 s with 22 queries