0 items
New Products
Restocked
Pre-Order Products
GI Shockers

Manufacturers

CQB Spotlight Field Spotlight Sniper Spotlight
UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (BLK)
[02111 / SOFTS368BH]
$169.99 $152.99
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 100 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  [Next >>] 
by D. GARLAK Date Added: Monday 08 July, 2013
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (BLK)
Product Information:
Got an older generation of the gun, and from what I've heard, they've only gotten better.

First received the older generation gun 5 years ago and purchased a NcStar 3-9x40 scope ( no illumination). After just making the switch from an AEG, it took time getting used to the gun and zeroing the scope in. After that, it was a piece of cake to take out anyone within 150 feet. The weapon could fire further, but I kept close to insure every shot was a kill. The gun served me well for 4 or so years without any additional upgrades or repairs.

About a year ago I started noticing the guns range was dropping, but still firing accurately. Eventually went In and found out the fps had dropped to 380-390. Wasn't a big deal to me because every shot was still a kill, it just didn't hurt as much and didn't have the range it used to.

Went on like this for another year until the trigger box finally wore down enough and the gun started slam firing. With this, the fps also dropped to 220 even after it was fixed. I was told it was a compression problem In the inner barrel.
That being said, I decided it was time to retire the gun after 5 years of trusty service.

Overall, definitely a five star gun. Cannot go wrong with this one. If you're fighting over whether to purchase it or not, it's definitely worth the money.

Pros:
Great fps
Crazy accuracy
Fantastic durability (4 years before I even noticed anything was different with the gun)
Outstanding range
Heavier weight felt realistic.


Cons:
For backyard play in the thigh woods, the gun was a little long, and sometimes it would be difficult to get a clear shot. However, that's deep woodland combat is for a sniper.
by U. GOMEZ Date Added: Friday 29 March, 2013
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (BLK)
Product Information:
This gun is great!!! I bought the upgrade kit from utg, and i noticed that other guns with high fps their trigger sears and piston sears wear out or break with in less than 500 shots. But not with this gun!!!! the sears on this gun are fantastic and more durable than any other comes with.How ever i do have the Tsd version of this gun, which is exactly the same as the utg except the tsd has a metal trigger housing. It is fairly accurate, i recommend .30 bbs if the gun is stock and .36 bbs with the utg upgrade, I also recommend a new barrel a 6.03 barrel, because a 6.01 can jam easily. I know the bar10/vsr10 is a little lighter and in my opinion a little more attractive to the eye, it cant comape to this guns stock durability.I took apart my trigger box today after about 1,000 shots with upgrades and about 1,500 shots without them and niether of the sears show any significant wear.Almost all the paint where the sears make contact is still there!

Pros:
great trigger and piston sears
metal magazines
plastic that stock is made of is of good quality


Cons:
may be heavy (11 Lbs.)for younger players
Nothing Else!!!!!!!!!!!!
by T. PUDDER Date Added: Sunday 16 June, 2013
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (BLK)
Product Information:
I did not buy this gun from ASGI but if I could I would.
UTG has really put together a good sniper rifle. You pay a little more for this one than the WELL MK96, but you are really paying for the quality. I would recommend this gun for anyone from newbies to pros.
IT IS A GOOD GUN.

Pros:
-Range is good!
-Accuracy is GREAT!
-2 metal mags
-No cheap plastic
-Good Bi-pod

Cons:
-The HOP-UP is annoying
-Plastic trigger box (replaceable)
by J. CORREIA verified buyer Date Added: Sunday 09 October, 2011
verified buyer
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (BLK)
Product Information:
This is an official review of the UTG MK96. I finally decided to write this review because I've had this gun since August of 2008 and still hitting hard without any problems! I would call myself an expert sniper in airsoft because its generally my mission on my team. This gun is made of primarily plastic with a metal barrel, bolt, bolt handle, trigger, bipod, rail and the magazines. As far as the internals, I'm very impressed due to how often I play. I use TSD high polished .28 and let me tell you that you will out shoot an AEG anyday. The fps lowers as you use heavier bbs but im still pushing 180-200 ft depending on weather conditions and the gun is VERY accurate! I am very pleased with this sniper rifle and I could say that any lever airsoft player would do well in any battle.

In conclusion, this sniper has helped me win many many battles and is still currently my primary sniper. I will now order the Airsoft GI custom MK96 because after three years it's time for change and I want the upgraded parts but it's still made from the base of the UTG which I like! Thank you for reading and shop wisely.

Pros:
Bolt is easy and smooth to pull back
Dead on accurate at 150ft
460 fps with a .20 (I use .28 bbs for much increased accuracy)
Plastic body is very durable along with all metal parts listed above
Rubber butt plate
Bi-pod is very easy to use and is also very durable!
Thank UTG for the metal magazines unlike other sniper rifles currently on the market!

Cons:
Large orange tip sometimes gives your position away
If you don't use heavy polished bb's, the MK96's accuracy lacks due to high velocity
Sling is junk
Gun is heavy if your short and weak
May be a pain to put together when you first buy it.

All in all, these are very small cons! HIGHLY recommended to any level airsoft sniper!
by J. BURKETT Date Added: Friday 17 December, 2010
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (BLK)
Product Information:
The UTG (Leapers) MK96 is a great starting platform for sniping and available upgrades can make it a perfect long term sniping choice.

Out of the box, the UTG MK96 is a decent powerhouse shooting at 425+ FPS. The accuracy is great and the range is about as good as you can expect from any airsoft gun. However, there are some upgrades that will bring up the performance even more. I have done both of the following upgrades and can easily hit medium sized targets for a long distance. Note: Depending on your field limits, you may not want to perform both of the upgrades:

-The first upgrade is the UTG performance Upgrade Kit for increased velocity, it comes with an upgrade spring, piston, and ball-bearing spring guide. Only takes 10-20 minutes to install. It increases the velocity of the gun by about 20%.
-The second upgrade is a 6.01mm Tightbore Barrel for accuracy. It's a little more difficult to install and can take 30 minutes to install. It will increase the accuracy and give you a small boost to the velocity of the gun.

Pros:
-Great accuracy and range.
-Upgrade parts available.
-Rail mount for optics.

Cons:
-Large and a little heavy (like most snipers of this kind).
-Oddly, one shot out of every 10 tends to veer off target. Re-seating the HopUp Bucking might address this issue.
-The finish on the lower plastic body isn't the most realistic.
by A. JENNINGS Date Added: Saturday 19 June, 2010
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (BLK)
Product Information:
Great gun for the price. Some factory defects on my gun though (doesnt happen to everyone). If your accuracy is a little off i suggest taking apart the barrel and putting something in it to straiten out the inner barrel. i did that with mine and now its really accurate (even with .2's!). bipod and picatinny rail block is really nice. one dissappointment though is the plastic trigger box (i reccommend the laylax type 96 zero trigger if you want to put in a heavier spring) definately need to upgrade if you want to reach its full potential (utg spring upgrade kit is a good choice and a tighbore barrel) Overall a great gun i like it

Pros:
-Sturdy/ Well built
-Shoots hard
- Great range
- Nice feel to it
- Great hop up system


Cons:
- Plastic trigger box
- Factory defects on some of the guns
- Hop up is impossible to adjust in the field
by J. SHERMAN Date Added: Thursday 01 July, 2010
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (BLK)
Product Information:
okay so i got this gun today, shot about 5 mag worth of .25g BBs, and i have to say, this gun is AWSOME. before i sho though i took it apart and de-greased and lubed up everything, and after some adjusting to the hop up i got it working great, to about 100 ft it shoots straight then it curves a bit. But its very consistent in the way it curves so adjusting your shots is easy. i got it shooting past 200ft and nailing targets as big as a head (a small x on the box i got it in) this gun was worth every penny, i have the scope and bipod setup and though the bipod is cheap the scope is wonderful.

Pros:
Accurate (to an extent)
Consistent
Realistic weight and look
comfortable
shoots hard and far
adjustable hop up

Cons:
Paint scratches on the barrel easily
bi-pod is wobbly
the sling it comes with is sub par
by K. KERR Date Added: Tuesday 20 April, 2010
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (BLK)
Product Information:
ok so i bought my gun 3 years ago and its still a beast of coarse the spring is getting a little old but thats what the 50 doller upgrade is for! the upgrade will bring your gun to 580 nice right.

Pros:
sturdy
reliable
fast
easy to pull back the bolt
many bullets in the mag
confortable natural grip
pure beast!

Cons:
the strap DO NOT USE!
by M. MCNEIL Date Added: Saturday 10 July, 2010
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (BLK)
Product Information:
All I've got to say is WOOOOOOOW!!!! I have fought with many sniper rifles but this one by far destroys them all! Out of the box I used .3 bbs I got easily 50yrds. But I spent 50$ on a new 6.01 barrel and haha! 75 and 100 yards is not out of my reach anymore. I was able to put a .3 through the head of a bird at about 30 yards easily. However, I would recoment .4 bbs, because the wind won't screw em up as much. The Gun itself is sturdy made out of strong plastic, it has a smoooooooth bolt action. And it's quiet X). Some people don't like the thumb hole but in my oppinion I love it. I have had this gun about a year and this is my primairy for evewry fight..... except in CQB. Be careful though, shooting someone to close will make them bleed. Even with a .3 bb. I highly recomend this gun!

Pros:
Accuracy: Amazing! You rarely miss, unless your bullet hits a twig or the wind kicks up. Furthest shot I made was 120 yds at a stationary target..... My brother.
Build: Great! It is durable and very well made. I don't think you'll break it any time soon.
Bolt: Incredibly smooth and easy. However I work out alot so it might be different for other people.The Mag. is easy to get in and out. You just have to push the button and the thing almost flies out.

Cons:
-The bipod S-U-C-K-S!!!!! You should just take the darn thing off. It will be easier to run around with.
-The Weight may be a lil to much for some peole. Around 8lbs maybe 10lb. The bipod just makes it heavier.
by C. KELLEY verified buyer Date Added: Thursday 20 May, 2010
verified buyer
For: UTG Full Metal MK96 Bolt Action Sniper Rifle Airsoft Gun (BLK)
Product Information:
I bought this gun 2 months ago - thought I'd use it a while before I through out a review. This gun is great I, along with the gun, I ordered all the upgrades. I issue, a couple days ago when pulling the bolt back the bolt cylinder broke at the rear where the bolt handle is at. The metal seemed tough - I guess not tough enough. I have yet to find a replacement bolt assembly. Other then that this gun is amazing - my break is probably one of those one in a million things.

Pros:
Using .40g bbs shoots great
comfortable
cheap
reliable to an extent

Cons:
Plastic body
Possibly Bolt break (It happened so I gotta list it)
Not this most accurate gun (tight bore barrel helps alot)
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 100 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  [Next >>] 
Back Write Review

Add to Cart

Copyright © 2014 Airsoft GI
Airsoft GI CAGE CODE   See Airsoft GI Reviews at Bizrate.com
Disclaimer: All airsoft guns are required to have the tip (1/4 inch) of the barrel permanently colored in blaze orange. No person may openly display or expose any imitation firearm (replica firearm), in a public place. The term "public place" means an area open to the public or exposed to public view and includes streets, sidewalks, bridges, alleys, plazas, parks, driveways, parking lots, automobiles, whether moving or not, and buildings open to the general public, including those that serve food or drink, or provide entertainment, and the doorways and entrances to buildings or dwellings and the grounds enclosing them.
Any person who changes, alters, removes, or obliterates any coloration or markings that are required for by any applicable state or federal law or regulation, for any imitation firearm (replica firearm), or device in any way that makes the imitation firearm (replica firearm) or device look more like a firearm is guilty of violating the state or federal law.
By accessing the Site, you certify that you are older than 18 years of age or the age of majority where you live, whichever is older; that you are the owner of any credit card used to purchase on items on the Site; that you are familiar with all local laws in your area affecting your legal right to access airsoft products; that any products you buy are for your own private enjoyment and that you will NEVER share these products with a minor in ANY WAY.

DB1 Current Parse Time: 0.413 s with 27 queries