0 items
New Products
Restocked
Pre-Order Products
GI Shockers

Manufacturers

CQB Spotlight Field Spotlight Sniper Spotlight
APS UAR Urban Assault Rifle Airsoft Gun (Black)
[12148 / APS AEG UAR BLK / UAR501B]
$205.00
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
by K. DOUBEK verified buyer Date Added: Sunday 27 July, 2014
verified buyer
For: APS UAR Urban Assault Rifle Airsoft Gun (Black)
Product Information:
I bought this gun two weeks ago. It doesn't come with any sights or a battery. it does come with 2 high cap mags. If you're looking for a battery and don't know what to get. Stick type anywhere from 8.4+ with a minimal of 1000mahs.

Pros:
Stylish with my eotech on top. The gun is just very good looking and versitile. With that quick change spring it can be done in a minute or so by an idiot. The two springs is nice for enclosed battles and open field. which is nice for my buddies son who is only 6 who plays with us. The low spring helps with the low impact on his baby "man" arms. Ha.

Cons:
I have only used this gun twice. They said it was a hit or a miss and I took a shot in the dark and got a lemon. The beginning was 3 day shipping doesn't work for my area apparently I have talked to my friends and everyone has said when they choose it they get it late. Then one of the two mags I got didn't work with it (down to one mag). Right after my charging handle wouldn't discharge forward to be able to mess with my hop up in a match. Taking it apart was a mess with the barrel cover getting stuck. Keep in mind i probably shot 10 BB's that match. It was late in the day and we didn't have time before the sun went down. Yesterday we went out again. I shot 10 BB's and it worked fine. Playing capture the flag i got 10 feet from the flag and had an engagement and it just stopped shooting. I quit seeing BB's so I shot at the Semi-Trailer next to me and no pings... I was livid next because I stopped the match and my buddy thought we were in game and lit me up. The only thing i can think is wrong with it is the nozzle doesn't look like it fully disengages to put a new BB in unless the mag is at full tension. I'm Dedicated at getting this thing to work but we will see.
by G. FOUNDS Date Added: Saturday 19 July, 2014
For: APS UAR Urban Assault Rifle Airsoft Gun (Black)
Product Information:
In a word--crap. Gearbox stopped feeding properly after 15 minutes. Multiple magazines and different types of magazines. Even turned over and fed by hand. Nothing worked. Found it was the gearbox. Wouldn't feed anything, even fed one at a time by hand.

APS owes me $205 for this POS.

Quality quite low. Don't waste your money.

Let's face it, most auto airsoft guns are crap, but most are not $205. You expect more for that kind of money. But, guess what, you don't get it. Save your money. Buy a cheapy and just mod and repair it yourself, because you'll have to do that with this one anyway.

Pros:
Interesting and aesthetically interesting design.
That's about it.


Cons:
Unreliable.
Gearbox screwed after 15 minutes of use.
Quality quite poor
Less reliable than all other airsoft guns in my arsenal--but at twice the price--yeah!!
by E. VON DASSOW verified buyer Date Added: Sunday 13 April, 2014
verified buyer
For: APS UAR Urban Assault Rifle Airsoft Gun (Black)
Product Information:
A necessary disclaimer before starting this review is that my UAR came dysfunctional. However, that's irrelevant for the preliminary. For starters, this gun is a conceptual leap from the conventional Airsoft models in several ways. It retain's an M4 length barrel with its bull pup design, is light weight due to its polymer construction, and ambidextrous to a point of gratuity. The bolt can even be moved to the other side of the gun for left-handed shooters.

Externally: Externally the gun is light and the plastic is just above cheap chinese make, but not yet the rugged, robust material of say a G&G or VFC AEG. The gun is easy to disassemble, and it uses a mostly-stock V3 gearbox and hop up unit. It has four rails and several QD sling points integrated onto its body. It has a three-position selector switch and an extremely long trigger pull (like, over half-an-inch, blech), and two magazine releases, one of which is ambidextrous and accessible with the shooting hand. Its battery is stored in the upper compartment. and easily accessed by removing a small tab/block. The bolt does lock back and is easily readjusted to be ambidextrous. The flash hider is glued on and takes a good period under the heat gun combined with a good vice grip and some determination to remove. Stored in the pistol grip is a small enclosure that can house two CR123A batteries for a PEQ box or light. Disassembly is done simply, beginning with the removal of pins and the separation of the upper-front and lower-rear areas of the gun. Removal of the flash hider is required for disassembly without further modification. Externally this gun has some neat features and ergonomics but lacks the design quality to properly execute them. It has nothing over an L85 or FN2000.

Internally: As mine came more or less useless and at the time I had neither the money or experience/time to do anything about it, I can't say much for most of its upgradeability, except for the fact that's a typical version 3 in most respects. The hop up has a proprietary enclosure however looks like the AK type adjustment. The inner barrel is nothing to rave about however once you remove the flash hider you can extend the outer barrel and make more of an AR or DMR out of this should you choose. It uses what seems like an M4/16 outer barrel type that screws onto the outside of the gearbox.

Performance: Here's where I can tell my unique and wretched experience with this gun. Out of the box it would jam every other shot until it would not fire. The ROF is pitiful until a Lipo is used and I doubt it can handle a LIPO stock. The FPS is near enough to what ASGI says it is, but I never chrono'd it. The vents on the top of the receiver are supposed to be clear however mine were closed off by tabs held on by plastic plates that looked like they had cheap glue holding them on, and thus nearly none of my stick batteries would fit. After disassembling the gun after about fifty shots, I noticed the hop up rubber was jammed into a folded mess and split half-way down the middle, and my barrel was not aligned correctly. I did not at the time have the DIY motivation to fix the problems with the gun. Pathetic as it sounds, I had a very bad experience with my UAR. Otherwise, from what good experiences I've had (like the terrific mags) and other reviews, this seems like a good and unique budget platform off of which to build a stand-out CQB piece. Although, if you're willing to spend the extra dollars, I would just let the bull pup fetish go and find a reliable Armalite/Kalashnikov platform…



Pros:
Ergonomic
Light
Cheap
Upgradeable?
Good Magazines
Innovative… (kind of)
Interesting trademarks/markings

Cons:
Long Trigger Pull
Cheaper Plastic…
Hard to disassemble/Glued flash-hider…
Feels hollow
MIne Came with Below Issues:
Bent Hop-up/Poorly aligned barrel
Covered vents/inaccessible battery space
by A. AMES Date Added: Saturday 29 March, 2014
For: APS UAR Urban Assault Rifle Airsoft Gun (Black)
Product Information:
This is a great gun for mid-level airsofters and/or a great beginning bullpup style gun. It's a pretty amazing gun!

Pros:
Shoots accurate, reliable, good price, and simple to use.

Cons:
Very limited battery space, hard to find parts, ugly flash hider, and doesn't support most mid caps.
by J. CHOI Date Added: Thursday 30 January, 2014
For: APS UAR Urban Assault Rifle Airsoft Gun (Black)
Product Information:
This product is great for first timers because it does not have tons of parts and has a nice weight in the back, which is different for the other guns

Pros:
Easy to use, weight is in back

Cons:
The clip falls outs sometimes if you try hip fire, jams sometimes.
by Z. CHAPMAN Date Added: Thursday 28 November, 2013
For: APS UAR Urban Assault Rifle Airsoft Gun (Black)
Product Information:
I am ordering this soon, and am really excited. It looks awesome, and, from what I can tell, is awesome. The only big downside is that is doesn't come with a battery. I already have a smart charger, so I don't care about that. It's also good that it comes with two mags.

Pros:
1. looks AWESOME! 2. comes with two mags 3.has two mag releases 4. good FPS 5. nice range 6. has lots of rail space

Cons:
1. not full metal 2. no battery or charger 3. mags don't hold too much ammo 4. kind of expensive
by J. WARD Date Added: Wednesday 13 November, 2013
For: APS UAR Urban Assault Rifle Airsoft Gun (Black)
Product Information:
I got this for christmas and it already does not function correctly. It used to perform great but one day it just started slipping off the gearbox and then a little bit later my full auto stopped working! It turned into semi!!!
Overall, i now wish i could have bought a scar instead of this. Looked great. I am very disappointed. :( wish i could take it back :s maybe if you just clean every game and check internals and soft use can keep it alive

Pros:
- Quick change spring
- Comes w/ 2 mags
- Comes with better spring
- Completely ambidextrous!!!
- Long barrel for short weapon(Bull pup)
- 2 mag releases

Cons:
-Mine does not work on full auto
-The trigger doesn't catch gearbox so doesn't fire sometimes
-battery is hard to get in/out
- Hard to use mag release by mag
by C. DOUCET Date Added: Thursday 17 October, 2013
For: APS UAR Urban Assault Rifle Airsoft Gun (Black)
Product Information:
Deffinatly a good gun. Short package with good range allows it to be used in outdoor amd indoor play. The consept is very ergonomic and feels very balanced and comfortanle up agaisnt your shoulder. Gearbox is a standard version three and one of the better stock gearboxes made by APS. The gun breaks down easy and its simple to get to most anything on the inside. Stock hop up could be a little bit better and battery compartment is a lil tight but other than those two thing its a great rifle to take and run with. Quick change spring system is very easy to use and is extremly handy for switching play styles from day to day.

Pros:
short overall length
great ergonomics
easy breakdown
verstile platform
farely solid gearbox
only bullpup that uses a standard gearbox
quick change spring system
looks amazing with a suppressor


Cons:
hop up in mine was not all that great
battery compartment is tight (can befixed if u use a stick lipo though)
not the most amazing trigger (presonal preference though)
by E. VON DASSOW verified buyer Date Added: Friday 26 July, 2013
verified buyer
For: APS UAR Urban Assault Rifle Airsoft Gun (Black)
Product Information:
The UAR is an interesting concept as an Airsoft firearm. It combines the ergonomics of future-esque bullpup designs with a compact and feature-packed construction. It has a few characteristics that I would like to see more often in the average Airsoft gun. Frankly, this is one of the cooler SMG's I've seen on the market (IMO). That said, APS's promise that "Compromise is not an Option" in big bold letters on the box is a gargantuan pile of steaming poo. There are loads of ups and downs on this gun that I will cover, however I'll give a brief explanation first.

The APS UAR is an AEG with a version 3 'hybrid' gearbox, courtesy of APS. It sports a genuine metal hop up and a short-type motor, and a spring that will deliver ~350fps out of the box, with another included that promises ~400fps. The gearbox is also outfitted with a quick-change spring system. With a barrel length of 385mm, this SMG makes apt use of the bullpup's famous long-barrel short-gun perk. There are numerous other features, including the quad-rail system, hollow pistol grip, ambidextrous fire selector, triple magazine release, bolt catch, and QD sling mounts. The flash hider is a standard 14mm CCW hider, and the inner barrel extends far into it, so make sure any barrel extensions or flash hiders you buy to replace the stock one are at least two inches or so. The gun also features a quick-disassembly system that relies upon the removal of three body pins to separate the upper and lower regions of the gun and gain access to the gearbox, barrel, and hop-up.

All the technicals aside, I'll now share my personal experience, which, unfortunately, has been rather terrible and is the main reason for the deduction of two stars on this review on an otherwise ingenious step in the SMG field. Firstly, the flash hider is glued on so tight that nothing short of a heat gun, pliers, and boiling water will allow one to finally battle off the flash hider late at night with salty cheeks and bulging neck veins. Hardly any magazines are compatible and even ones that lock will not feed. APS did themselves an anti-favor by trying to sucker in American players to buy their proprietary magazines from China. Continuing, my APS UAR came with plastic stubs covering the insides of the upper vents, meaning less battery space and less cool-factor. It's lame that they allowed guns to come out of the factory like that. Compromise isn't an option? Pffffft get a slogan. The rear stock pad that houses the bolt catch is flimsy and is prone to falling off. Only with electrical tape for padding is it decently rigid in place. The trigger pull for this gun is uncomfortably long, and puts the player at that much more of a disadvantage when playing, esp. in CQB where other players are likely to have instant-response spring action rifles. My UAR fails to feed properly even with its own magazines, opting instead to jam every other round, even on a lubed barrel, charged 7.4v lipo, and fully wound magazine. It chokes and eventually the shooting becomes a dull 'thud-thud-thud' as BB's begin to collect in the hop up. I suspect this may have to do with a torn or crinkled hop up rubber or something. Speaking of the hop-up, adjusting it too dramatically in either direction will jam the gun automatically. The selector switch, although duplicated on the other side of the gun, is hard to reach without changing hands from the typical shooter's grip. I don't have small hands. Lastly but not least, the gun's rate of fire is mediocre at best, and noticeably lower than even sportline AEG's by G&G and Echo 1.

In Conclusion, the APS UAR is a cool idea with some new things to bring to the table, however APS obviously did not invest the care or effort to work even a few of the great variety of quirks, incompatibilities, and shortcomings of this model. I seriously hope that a few upgrades to the gearbox and a full re-lube of the gun will ensure that it starts to even shoot properly. All in all, buy this gun but do so with low expectations and a wallet with cash ready to spend on replacement parts and a lot of kleanex for your late-night crying about what this AEG could have been.


Pros:
Interesting design...
Comfortable to shoulder, easy to get bearings and line shot...
Durable plastic construction, light enough for younger players...
Magazine releases are convenient
Accommodating rail space...
Quick Change Spring System
Decent FPS

Cons:
Low Rate of Fire
Counter-Productive Hop-Up
Flimsiness in several areas
Flash Hider is glued far too tightly...

*My Model came with covered perforations*

Bad magazine compatibility
Constant Jamming and Feeding issues out of the bog with a good battery and fair care...
Ridiculous trigger pull...
by M. ALVARADO Date Added: Saturday 13 July, 2013
For: APS UAR Urban Assault Rifle Airsoft Gun (Black)
Product Information:
I just picked this up two days ago and it rocks. The plastic build is surprisingly strong! It's kind of a struggle to disassemble because the model I bought had a piece that screwed in behind the barrel and the barrel doesn't unscrew. The stock is very heavy because of the gearbox but when I shouldered it everything balanced out. There's ample enough rail space for every little tactical accessory you could want. I should warn you that some high cap M4 mags don't quite feed well (like DBoys), but the mags included work well. This will not fit any midcap mags without some modification to either the mags or the gun. Also I installed a M90 spring from SHS and it BARELY fell below the 350fps limit at Tac City. So if you want to use this in CQB, buy a M90 spring; this gun makes it very easy to swap out springs. I have yet to use this outdoors but indoors it works like a dream

Pros:
Very user friendly
shoots strong
spot on accurate even with .20's
well balanced
Ambidextrous EVERYTHING
easy to reassemble
extra mag and spring included

Cons:
a little hard to disassemble
requires modification for some M4 mags
stick batteries are kind of difficult to put in
cheek rest falls off easily
kind of heavy for a plastic body
mags included have little capacity
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back Write Review

Add to Cart

Copyright © 2014 Airsoft GI
Airsoft GI CAGE CODE   See Airsoft GI Reviews at Bizrate.com
Disclaimer: All airsoft guns are required to have the tip (1/4 inch) of the barrel permanently colored in blaze orange. No person may openly display or expose any imitation firearm (replica firearm), in a public place. The term "public place" means an area open to the public or exposed to public view and includes streets, sidewalks, bridges, alleys, plazas, parks, driveways, parking lots, automobiles, whether moving or not, and buildings open to the general public, including those that serve food or drink, or provide entertainment, and the doorways and entrances to buildings or dwellings and the grounds enclosing them.
Any person who changes, alters, removes, or obliterates any coloration or markings that are required for by any applicable state or federal law or regulation, for any imitation firearm (replica firearm), or device in any way that makes the imitation firearm (replica firearm) or device look more like a firearm is guilty of violating the state or federal law.
By accessing the Site, you certify that you are older than 18 years of age or the age of majority where you live, whichever is older; that you are the owner of any credit card used to purchase on items on the Site; that you are familiar with all local laws in your area affecting your legal right to access airsoft products; that any products you buy are for your own private enjoyment and that you will NEVER share these products with a minor in ANY WAY.

DB5 Current Parse Time: 0.190 s with 25 queries