0 items
New Products
Restocked
Pre-Order Products
GI Shockers

Manufacturers

CQB Spotlight Field Spotlight Sniper Spotlight
CM048 Full Metal/Wood AK 74 AEG Airsoft Gun
[05561 / CM048]
$178.76 $169.82
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
by B. FENTON verified buyer Date Added: Sunday 31 August, 2014
verified buyer
For: CM048 Full Metal/Wood AK 74 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
I have been playing airsoft for about 6 years now, never have I felt a more solid gun. The build quality is better than my vfc scar l ($380). It weighs a pound under my real steel s&w ar-15, which my be a con for some. I bought this gun to do upgrades with and wanted a nice ak platform that was sturdy. It is somewhat easy to take apart. The gearbox is pretty nice, metal gears that seemed pretty nice, plastic piston and piston head, metal spring guide with ball bearings which are awesome. Overall the internals were pretty decent. Accuracy was great only 1.5 foot spread at 135 ft. This gun is shooting to hot chronoed by asgi at 472. The metal receiver is steel along with the muzzle brake, gas tube trigger and trigger guard, barrel is some other metal. The wood has an excellent finish and I dropped it on accident with absolutely no scratches. The mag wobbles from side to side. Overall this gun is one of the best guns for the money and is modeled of the $400 dollar vfc version. Definitely buy this if you want to upgrade or starting off.

Pros:
Price
Body
Feel
Weight
Internals


Cons:
Fps
Wobbly mag
by N. MAINS Date Added: Wednesday 27 November, 2013
For: CM048 Full Metal/Wood AK 74 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
Right-o. This was my first AEG, and, after comparing it to some of its middle-end competitors I've now acquired, I was impressed. The thing is rock-solid, durable, easy take-down, and all that. All the pros are significant, while the cons are minor nitpicks that could be improved. For the $160 that I got it at, it's a steal. For the $136 it's selling for during the Black Friday sale... Buy two and send me one. I'll split the shipping with you.

Pros:
Pros:
-This thing has accuracy. I was hitting OPFOR out to around 180 feet, confirmed.
-Primarily steel construction, so a nice weight. The barrel's aluminum, the sight block's some unidentified pot metal. I weighed it and it came in around 7.5 pounds.
-Comes with an M120 equivalent, which is both a good and bad thing. It shoots around 420 FPS.
-Dead-tree furniture.
-Rock-solid internals. The barrel is nicely crowned, compared to other stock barrels, the hop is decent and made of metal, but the gearbox and motor is where this really shines.
-The motor is the stuff of legend, at least for a clone gun. It has absolutely no problem pulling the heavy spring at around 14 rounds per second.
-The gearbox suffers from ACM disorder: grease everywhere. However, the polycarb piston is solid, there's a bearing spring guide, metal bushings, and STEEL GEARS. That's something I don't often see in a budget gun.

Cons:
Cons:
-Hop-up adjustment slide sheared into two pieces. This is the biggest problem with this AEG.
-The dead-tree furniture is of fairly poor quality. It's plywood, and arrived with some serious nicks and dents.
-Comes with an M120, so FPS is too high to field. (A fair bit over 400, according to the Coke can chrono)
-Sight block is of a weirdly-finished pot metal.
-To access the battery compartment, you have to remove the butt plate with two screws. It takes a while.
-The only part of the gun that isn't like a rock is the gearbox and motor. They can shift back and forth relative to the hop-up. I'm not sure whether this affects range or accuracy.
-The AK platform has a whole host of flaws: no place for optics, crud sights, difficult-to-access fire selector. These definitely aren't CYMA's fault, though.
by J. HERMAN verified buyer Date Added: Tuesday 19 February, 2013
verified buyer
For: CM048 Full Metal/Wood AK 74 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
Being a field player tired of AR platform rifles, I took a chance and bought this rifle and I am simply amazed by it. Externally, I could not have asked for a better AEG. It is solidly built, and the steel on wood construction gives it a very wonderful feel when you're carrying it. Internally, however, I was not too impressed. For the price, I didn't mind and I already ordered the parts I anticipated on using anyways. A systema M100 spring lowered the fps and a regrease and reshim helped it fire smooth and fast on a 9.6v battery. The end result is a very consistent and stable rifle that I will not hesitate to use on the field.

Pros:
Steel and wood construction make it an ergonomic masterpiece

Very solid construction

Has potential to be a dominating weapon in the hands of the right tech

Cons:
Some wobble present, very negligible.

To get this thing fieldable you might have to jump through a few hoops and do some custom work, but the end result is glorious!
by P. PATTI verified buyer Date Added: Friday 10 May, 2013
verified buyer
For: CM048 Full Metal/Wood AK 74 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
To begin, I have owned many CM028s in the past. They have all been amazing guns for great prices. Recently, I had some extra cash and decided to look at more AKs. That's when I stumbled on this one. This gun was the one for me. After extensive research and great discounts (Thanks ASGI) I bought it. My first impressions on this gun was wow! The externals have little or no wobble, and the steel feels great! The magazine mine came with is orange, (Not Black) but I am ok with that due to the fact that's how it is in real life. I bought and NC Star scope mount, and didn't realize how it worked. Apparently the rail mounts for most AK-74s literally clamp down. The battery compartment is enough for most small type batteries. You probably would be wasting your time trying to stick a large type into it. The stock had a slight wobble out of the box, but not even noticeable. I shot this gun and it preformed amazingly! Shot at least 440 fps out of the box. Hit everything I wanted to. Decent ROF.


Three weeks later: The gun was still working, the only difference is now the stock is much more wobbly. I took some allen keys and tightened it up, and now it is fine!

One quick note: Unlike the CM042 and CM046 AK-47s, the wood is a cheaper plywood-like material. It isn't that bad, but might be more prone to breakage. Also, you can see the lines in the wood on the top and bottom of the wood parts, just like on plywood.

Pros:
Externals are great
440 Fps
$180
Wood is pretty good
Perfect weight
Long barrel
Looks Boss!!

Cons:
Stock becomes wobbly over time (Is easily fixed)
Magazine is slightly cheap
by R. WOEBKENBERG verified buyer Date Added: Friday 24 May, 2013
verified buyer
For: CM048 Full Metal/Wood AK 74 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
This was my first CYMA airsoft gun and after using it, defenitly not the last. This gun fires amazingly with a 9.6 volt battery. I bought it separately and it does fit. I can make six inch groups from 35 yards. It is amazing. The grip is plum-colored and the mag is cheap wood-colored, but you barely notice these things. Overall, buy this gun! The FPS with .2 BB's is a bit high, might be too hot for your local range. I use .25's.

Pros:
Real Wood
Full Metal
Amazing Accuracy
FPS(High)
Decent ROF

Cons:
Purple Grip
Cheap Mag
FPS(High)
by D. MITCHELL verified buyer Date Added: Friday 24 February, 2012
verified buyer
For: CM048 Full Metal/Wood AK 74 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
Excellent gun. When I first got it I was blown away by the externals, very nice, not quite Arsenal quality but way better than say, a Century build. The gas tube on mine is slightly bent to the right, but it does not affect performance and i have seen worse on many real ak's.
I was worried that the barrel was slightly bent too, but the sights line up very nicely and if ithe barrel is bent it doesnt seem to matter, mine shoots absolutely amazing. This is probobaly the most accurate stock airsoft gun I have ever shot. I can shoot 1 inch three shot groups at 45 feet with mine.
The included magazine feeds reliably and has caused no problems so far, even after being dropped twice on a hardwood floor. The battery isnt great but does work.
I have had this gun for 2 weeks and have put around 3500 rounds through it, so far it has functioned flawlessly. I highly reccomend this to anyone looking for a high quality, durable ak74.


Pros:
-High quality externals
-Extreme accuracy
-Flawless function(so far)


Cons:
-Slightly bent gas tube(on mine)
-Some pot metal parts
-Slightly wobbly buttstock(easily fixed)
by K. MACAR verified buyer Date Added: Tuesday 15 November, 2011
verified buyer
For: CM048 Full Metal/Wood AK 74 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
I bought this over the summer and I've skirmished with it a couple of times at some pretty heavy firefights(8 times). Heres what I've experienced. I am going to go pretty far in depth because it is hard to get info on this baby online... not many reviews out there.
I am a former g36k user that switched to the 74. Im never going back. this ak has blown me away, ergonomically, it feels like an extension of my arm. despite its weight, it is well balanced. I can quickly acquire targets, move easily, and my average reload time is 4-5 seconds in the field... just right, way better than the g36 (7-8 seconds). The wood feels GREAT. The finish is beautiful and has gotten me many compliments. so far it hasnt had any nicks or dings. i did get a point blank bb impact to the right side of the foregrip... not even a blemish (so far). The metal is a different story. Its heavy, cold to the touch, no JG- echo 1 pot metal here. but it does scratch easily especially near the fire selector. the hex screw holding the stock in place is prone to decay. replace it immediately if you can. the rear sling point does not seem trustable and makes a lot of noise, i used gaffer tape and taped it in place to shut it up. The fire selector might need to be tightened every once in a while. Now on to the plastic. not much to report here: the pistol grip is a rough plastic, i dont mind it, its somewhat wobbly but on an acceptably level, who knows if this will get worse though. The pistol grip is painted kalashnikov purple (or plum) which is nice for kalash-o-philes. The magazine is also plastic.... and terrible. The hicap that comes with this ak will barely fit and has fallen out several times. a waste of time really, CYMA makes a 140 round ak74 midcap mag that evike sells as ('matrix'), i have had not problems with these. The stock wobbles a lot. like i said, switch out the hex screw asap. i might try to fix the wobble with locktight. The battery fits in the stock, its an 8.4 small type and gets the job done. the rear butt plate is metal and held in place by screws (as opposed to "friction" or magic with jg or echos) dont lose the screws though they are metric scaled screws and might be hard to easily replace.

Internals, I havent done much, really havent cracked open the gearbox yet. BUT i can say this much, the gear box is pretty easy to get to, i timed it, about 7 minutes (and i suck at fixing things). the motor can be accessed very quickly, probably in a minute or two. hop up is a slider, and gets the job done. The barrel is impressive. pretty accurate for a rifle. not DMR material though. The spring on the other hand. is HOT. youre looking at an m120 no doubt about it, fps is 420 chronoed by me and agi. I advise down grading this, (and i intend to). The rate of fire isnt great on the stock battery. the 8.4 is good enough but i give the rof, down grading the spring will probably help this.

FPS: A+ (an over achiever in fact)
ROF: B-
External looks: A+ (over achiever)
External feel and Ergonomics: A+ (over achiever)
External fortitude: B-
Internal fortitude: A-
Range: A
Versatility: C
Mag that comes with it: D
Battery: B-

OVERALL:
This is a great assault rifle, key word 'rifle'. This is best used for long range field wars. I'm currently using it for woodland combat in florida with great success. this is not a sniper, lmg, or smg. this is a specific answer to a specific role. If i had to give it an overall grade Im giving it an A-, not as good as some super high enders out there. but leagues ahead of a JG or echo 1. CYMA stepped it up here. But you will have to put up with some external shortcomings, primarily that wobbly stock. I will milsim with this gun and heavy skirmish with this gun. She's a keeper for sure. completely happy with my purchase (ASGI also did a great job with everything! you guys rock!)


Pros:
Very balanced, great feel to the rifle I really cant express how good this thing feels. very quick to familiarize with from G36
great look to the rifle, fairly accurate replica, far exceeds any Jg, Echo 1, or Marui in externals and replication
strong performace, seems to be internally reliable thus far,
barrel is slightly longer on the ak74 version due to the flash hider..... a nice touch
Quite capable of out performing the vast majority of AEGs suited for infantry and grenadier roles.

Cons:
some parts need to be tightened or modded
a heavy, long rifle. not to be used for CQB, not for people that want lighter guns
Uncomfortably high fps will get you banned in a heartbeat
terrible mag, absolute trash,
Not the most versatile rifle; this isnt a rail orgy like some m16s out there. that being said there is a nice side scope mount that can accept kobra red dot sights or POSP scopes, a feature unavailable for cheaper marui clones, and a gp30 grenade launcher can be attached. Can accept some ak47 metal mags. but i recommend sticking with the plastic ak74 mags.
by I. ELHELOU verified buyer Date Added: Wednesday 27 October, 2010
verified buyer
For: CM048 Full Metal/Wood AK 74 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
I've had this gun for about a year now and it is still one of the best guns i've used. I have used it in multiple airsoft wars and everyone agreed it was the scariest to battle with if you were on the other team. It is accurate and i hit everyone every single shot i took. They all wish they could have a gun as great as this one. If you are looking for power accuracy and a sick looking gun this is your gun.

Pros:
accurate
powerful
real wood
working charging handle
large magazine capacity

Cons:
long (length wise)
cheap mag
a little to heavy (may be good)
by R. HAMBLETON Date Added: Sunday 03 October, 2010
For: CM048 Full Metal/Wood AK 74 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
When I saw this gun I fell in love with it and I decided to buy it. When it came I was surprised at the quality of the metal and the wood (which scratches easily). Its hefty, solid, and feels perfect. When you disassemble it, it takes a while and a lot of pins to be removed to get to the gearbox. When I opened the gearbox it was over greased and horribly shimmed, but I grease and shimmed it properly. Standard stock gearbox, except for the steel shims, steel bushings, and the ball bearing spring guide. Everything was good after that, and overall, the ball bearing spring was an amazing touch.

Pros:
Steel body, flash hider, butt plate and dust cover
Metal front assembly
Real wood furniture
Side scope mount
Surprising stock internals (ball bearing spring guide in mine)
Good weight

Cons:
Small battery compartment
Front and rear wobble (fixed with electric tape)
Weak wires
by G. POLANSKY verified buyer Date Added: Sunday 08 August, 2010
verified buyer
For: CM048 Full Metal/Wood AK 74 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
First of all, you get what you pay for in weight with a full metal / real wood gun. However, this can be a downside. Having a metal and wood gun is extremely durable but heavy, like their real world cousins. The plastic pistol grip can be an annoyance on the battlefield because it creeks and wobbles under duress. The stock suffers from a similar problem. It wobbles slightly, but isn't a big issue. The front sight is movable with the use of a metal piece which can be used to raise and lower the height. However, by turning it, it also rotates from side to side a little which makes it hard to center. Also, I find it difficult to reload in the heat of battle. The mag-well and magazines seem to have a hard time working with each other, getting jammed or failing to make contact unless inserted perfectly.



Pros:
- full metal
- real wood
- accurate enough for me
- durable
- metal big flash hider
- 400+ fps
- side rail holder
- hop up
all around good gun

Cons:
- heavy for me because i play all day
- hard to adjust the font site
- scratches easily
- front heavy because of the full metal flash hider and exterior metal barrel
- right handed sling mounts
- It's hard to locate the correct position for the mag in the mag-well under stress

gets heavier and heavier through the day if you like to play all day.
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back Write Review

Out of Stock

Copyright © 2014 Airsoft GI
Airsoft GI CAGE CODE   See Airsoft GI Reviews at Bizrate.com
Disclaimer: All airsoft guns are required to have the tip (1/4 inch) of the barrel permanently colored in blaze orange. No person may openly display or expose any imitation firearm (replica firearm), in a public place. The term "public place" means an area open to the public or exposed to public view and includes streets, sidewalks, bridges, alleys, plazas, parks, driveways, parking lots, automobiles, whether moving or not, and buildings open to the general public, including those that serve food or drink, or provide entertainment, and the doorways and entrances to buildings or dwellings and the grounds enclosing them.
Any person who changes, alters, removes, or obliterates any coloration or markings that are required for by any applicable state or federal law or regulation, for any imitation firearm (replica firearm), or device in any way that makes the imitation firearm (replica firearm) or device look more like a firearm is guilty of violating the state or federal law.
By accessing the Site, you certify that you are older than 18 years of age or the age of majority where you live, whichever is older; that you are the owner of any credit card used to purchase on items on the Site; that you are familiar with all local laws in your area affecting your legal right to access airsoft products; that any products you buy are for your own private enjoyment and that you will NEVER share these products with a minor in ANY WAY.

DB3 Current Parse Time: 0.622 s with 24 queries