0 items
New Products
Restocked
Pre-Order Products
GI Shockers

Manufacturers

CQB Spotlight Field Spotlight Sniper Spotlight
Echo 1 Full Metal/Real Wood RED STAR AKM AEG Airsoft Gun
[05331 / JP-48]
$235.00
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 38 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
by J. BOYLE verified buyer Date Added: Tuesday 25 March, 2014
verified buyer
For: Echo 1 Full Metal/Real Wood RED STAR AKM AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
First impressions are great. When I opened the box it looked like a real AKM (which I have shot the real version). This is an eye pleaser right away. Then you shoot it...and its like HOLY GUACAMOLE! The wood on it is plywood but you cant really tell this unless you look closely, but trust me, its strong. the only plastic on this gun is the tip and the grip and like one other obscure part. The weight is like half a pound off the real AKM. solidly built. I traded mine after several years of use for an Umarex MP7. the only the reason i traded it was because I play at a very close quarters arena: this is a field gun. it is useable in CQC but I prefer my WE Glock or the MP7 for CQC. For a field its great. The FPS is outrageously high and it has made everyone I've shot with it bleed so i changed the spring out for an S90.

Pros:
-Heavy
-Well constructed and has great attention to detail (one feature being that the cleaning rod comes out like the real thing)
-very accurate and powerful (out of a 16 person game it has a 6 person kill average per game, its that good)
-mags hold a buttload of ammo (600 ct)
-full metal, yes, when i say full metal, i mean full metal. seriously the only plastic is the tip, the grip, and an obscure internal piece.
-has that little thing on the side so you can attach a rail
-did i mention this gun causes spontaneous gungasms on sight?

Cons:
-wood is plywood
-the high fps can be a pro or con depending on how you look at it. i wasnt allowed at games because of the power
-If you plan on running the tip into a suburban parked in the middle of a field, the tip WILL CRACK. trust me, i know from experience...
honestly i cannot think of any other cons except the size sucks for CQC, but its a full size AK, not a SMG.
by J. MATHEWS Date Added: Tuesday 28 January, 2014
For: Echo 1 Full Metal/Real Wood RED STAR AKM AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
The Red Star AKM seemed to be very high quality, and the performance is pretty good. The wood furniture on it was pretty good, and it had a nice weight to it.

Pros:
Full metal and real wood
Preforms well
great weight

Cons:
Somewhat slow rate of fire
The battery space is limited to smaller batteries.
by U. RUIJSENAARS verified buyer Date Added: Friday 06 December, 2013
verified buyer
For: Echo 1 Full Metal/Real Wood RED STAR AKM AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
Just got this to be my main field gun. Out of the box, I noticed it was higher quality construction then my dboy. Nothing wrong with the dboy ak I have, but there seems to be 4 tiers of AK:
Low end: cyma
Entry lvl mid: d-boy
Mid to high end: echo 1.
I dont really have any experience with the vfc or real sword ak's, but I really like this gun.

Great fps and robust construction. Stripping it down I was impressed with how tightly fitted the barrel, hopup and gearbox were. I replaced the barrel, and with a madbull 6.03 it's very accurate. Hop up needed a little work, but now performs flawlessly.

Pros:
-High fps
-Quality externals
-Good accuracy
-Nice wood furniture
-Very nice trigger for an AEG


Cons:
-Kinda have to wedge a 9.6 mini into the stock. Could use like a 1/4 inch deeper battery compartment.
by J. BARNETT verified buyer Date Added: Friday 06 December, 2013
verified buyer
For: Echo 1 Full Metal/Real Wood RED STAR AKM AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
I just got this gun today and it is phenomenal. Very powerful, extremely accurate, nice feel, and very study.

Pros:
Very powerful
Extremely accurate
Really sturdy
High rate of fire
Long range

Cons:
Difficult to get in battery first time (but easy the next times)
Difficult to get the magazine in if you aren't used to it (tilt it back about half an inch and it goes in easily)
by J. JOHNSON verified buyer Date Added: Wednesday 27 November, 2013
verified buyer
For: Echo 1 Full Metal/Real Wood RED STAR AKM AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
Beautiful full metal and real wood AKM. This was my first "big" airsoft purchase (more than $150 or less gun) and I have no regrets. Great gun, haven't had a problem with it yet other than it doesn't like G&P midcaps. One complaint is that I wish they kept it under 400fps stock, nearly all airsoft fields have 400fps as their limit (or less).

Pros:
Real Wood, because an AK with fake wood is just silly.
Accurate
Very smooth shooting and fairly quiet gearbox operation.

Cons:
High fps out of the box (had get a new spring for use at my local fields).
Can't think of any others beyond that
by C. WELCH Date Added: Thursday 26 September, 2013
For: Echo 1 Full Metal/Real Wood RED STAR AKM AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
I got this because I was looking for a good that had field range and could still be used in CQB. Got it about 2 years ago and I am just now starting to have very minor problems. This gun has worked great and has been used heavily. The gun is not to be looked down upon just because it is Echo 1. People say they are not good, but so far mine has proven that wrong time and time again. The wood on the gun looks good, adds a nice touch to it. The gun does not come with a scope mount sadly. The gun is just now giving me problems with the sights being broken and the fire selector is loose. It will go from semi to full auto by mistake. Metal is solid, as well as the wood. To access the battery compartment, you will need a screw driver and remove the back metal piece.

Pros:
Great field gun while being able to go CQB.
Real wood.
Pretty lightweight for a full metal/wood AKM.
Sturdy.

Cons:
No scope mount included.
Front sight is plastic.
by A. SOCARRAS Date Added: Sunday 21 July, 2013
For: Echo 1 Full Metal/Real Wood RED STAR AKM AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
I purchased the Echo 1 Red Star AKM off of an eBay seller for $190. It was preupgraded with Prometheus and and a few systema internal parts, was wired to a 20C 11.1v LiPo with XT-60 connectors, and had a little wear on the right side of the barrel. Overall, I am extremely satisfied, the previous owner sold it with a 600 rd Echo 1 Metal High-Cap and a Polymer mid cap which I do not know the brand of. The High-Cap is good quality, but it skips shots on fully automatic every once in a while, and the mid cap feeds flawlessly. I could consistently hit targets with ease at 50-75 yards with .28 Elite Force biodegradable BBs, and I am sure that I could go farther, MUCH farther, I can see the way that my gun is set up it shooting out to 200 feet. I have fired about 2500 bbs through it and it is going strong. I have held real steel AK-47s and shot plenty of other firearms, and this thing weighs just as much.

Pros:
-Extremely accurate, I destroyed an old, decaying birdhouse in my yard with this at about 50 feet, glass was shattering, and it was epic. I popped a water bottle at about 30 feet with so much ease I didn't even have to try to aim.
-Great weight which adds to the realism, when I hold this badboy in the air with one hand, I feel like I just came straight out of the 1980s movie Red Dawn, in which a group of highschoolers form the Wolverines, a guerilla group that fights against Soviet occupation. They predominately use AKMs as well.
-Good quality metal.
-No stock wobble or handguard wobble, I'm not sure why so many of the other reviews stated that this gun had bad wobble, it is pretty much non-existent for me
-With my 20C Zippy 11.1v lipo, the rate of fire is INSANE!!!!!!!! I would say probably about 20-23 RPS, maybe a little less with prolonged use and a break-in period.
-Very good trigger response, semi-auto is a breeze, and full auto is very entertaining
-Adjustable iron sights for range and elevation
-Good quality sling mounts
-Wood finish is beautiful to look at and hold, even cooler with scratches and battle wear
-Easy to open back plate for battery compartment

Cons:
Very few cons, most specific to the way the previous owner had set it up. Cons with an * are specific to the way my gun is set up.
*-XT60 connectors are a pain to remove to take the battery out of the compartment
*-Takes some time to fit the battery in the compartment
- White engravings with serial numbers and the engraving on the fire selector are starting to rust and wear down a bit, but that can also be a pro as it looks very rugged
-Mag well takes some practice to use, once you get it down it is very easy to do however
-Barrel can scratch pretty easily, again looks rugged though, so semi-Pro
-Rear iron sights wobble a bit, very manageable however






Overall, this is an AMAZING GUN, with or without my upgrades and battery, as to begin with it comes stock with PREUPGRADED internals, would probably recommend stepping up the default 8.4v battery to something that can keep up a little better. Overall, if you are looking for a realistic AK style rifle, this gun is for you
by M. KING verified buyer Date Added: Tuesday 16 April, 2013
verified buyer
For: Echo 1 Full Metal/Real Wood RED STAR AKM AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
I just got mine in the mail today. This is the second time I've had this exact one. This is absolutely worth the money and I would suggest this to any AK style lover.

Pros:
Good fps for outdoor play (Fits an AK nicely)
Very strong build
Real wood
Great accuracy and range

Cons:
The wood is now a lighter color and the upper handguard doesn't match the lower handguard or the stock. (The older ones were much darker like in the image and all matched perfectly.
ROF is a little slow
fairly cheap price
nothing else, if not for the wood color I would give it 5/5
by B. SHELTON verified buyer Date Added: Thursday 31 January, 2013
verified buyer
For: Echo 1 Full Metal/Real Wood RED STAR AKM AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
This is beyond a shadow of a doubt the best (but also the most expensive) AEG I've ever owned. I love it to death. If you are a fan of AKs, this one is one of the most versatile milsim Kalashnikovs on the market. Pre-upgraded to a staggering 430~390 fps, it has all the range and accuracy you can ask from an AEG.

Mine arrived the morning I was leaving for an Op in December 2010 in Oklahoma. I charged the battery in the hotel overnight and fired the first round from it through a chronograph. 439fps. The safety officer was like "Good God! Shoot again." 403. (limit 400fps for this op) "One more." 393. "Close enough" and gave me my zip-tie. Kicked butt with it all day before the battery just suddenly quit ten minutes before game over. I didn't fire it again until after the 30 day warranty and found that the motor only buzzed when I pulled the trigger.

I had a tech look at it and he told me that "your battery doesn't have the ass to run all these upgrades. I put a Li-po in it and it works". I bought a pair of Li-po batteries and it has served me VERY well ever since. I highly recommend it.

Pros:
Range
Accuracy
Pre-upgraded
Full metal (on everything that's metal on a real AKM)
Real wood furniture, feels very real in your hands
Reliable
30-day manufacturer's warranty

Cons:
Must use specific side-rail mounts for any optics
Mag well can be a little picky about what mags it will accept
Upgraded so thoroughly that the stock battery may not run the gun
A tad on the heavy side when equipped with grenade launcher and optics
Must remove two philips head screws to access battery
by H. KOCH verified buyer Date Added: Tuesday 15 November, 2011
verified buyer
For: Echo 1 Full Metal/Real Wood RED STAR AKM AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
So I've had this gun fro about 8 months now and I have named it and everything. When I go to the field to play everyone starts talking about me and my Echo 1 Ak "Moriarty." While the length of the gun doesn't work as well in a building setting I manage with skilled angles and some long range shots. It's extremely accurate and I have the hop up measured to adjust so I can shoot across the city and hit snipers in the towers. Yeah, it's that awesome. The fps is definitely over the 400 mark with a tad bit of adjustment and I haven't even gotten a 9.6v battery for it. That's out of the box. The only thing I could say bad about the gun is it occasionally jams on the semi-auto setting but a quick switch to full and back fixes the issue. And the stock needs some spaces to tighten it and it's still a bit wobbly. However I love the real wood and I'm the most feared female player at the field.

Pros:
Fps!
Accuracy(and I haven't even upgraded it at all)
Real wood
Accurate weight
never had any trouble with jamming mags



Cons:
wobbly stock and occasionally the pistol grip.
jams in semi but rarely.
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 38 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back Write Review

Out of Stock

Copyright © 2014 Airsoft GI
Airsoft GI CAGE CODE   See Airsoft GI Reviews at Bizrate.com
Disclaimer: All airsoft guns are required to have the tip (1/4 inch) of the barrel permanently colored in blaze orange. No person may openly display or expose any imitation firearm (replica firearm), in a public place. The term "public place" means an area open to the public or exposed to public view and includes streets, sidewalks, bridges, alleys, plazas, parks, driveways, parking lots, automobiles, whether moving or not, and buildings open to the general public, including those that serve food or drink, or provide entertainment, and the doorways and entrances to buildings or dwellings and the grounds enclosing them.
Any person who changes, alters, removes, or obliterates any coloration or markings that are required for by any applicable state or federal law or regulation, for any imitation firearm (replica firearm), or device in any way that makes the imitation firearm (replica firearm) or device look more like a firearm is guilty of violating the state or federal law.
By accessing the Site, you certify that you are older than 18 years of age or the age of majority where you live, whichever is older; that you are the owner of any credit card used to purchase on items on the Site; that you are familiar with all local laws in your area affecting your legal right to access airsoft products; that any products you buy are for your own private enjoyment and that you will NEVER share these products with a minor in ANY WAY.

DB4 Current Parse Time: 0.380 s with 26 queries