0 items
New Products
Restocked
Pre-Order Products
GI Shockers

Manufacturers

CQB Spotlight Field Spotlight Sniper Spotlight
G&G Full Metal SOC 16 AEG Airsoft Gun
[02679 / EGM-014-SOC-BNB-NCM]
$270.00
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
by L. PETKAU Date Added: Friday 29 November, 2013
For: G&G Full Metal SOC 16 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
It's a great gun and performed good out of the box. It's a fun gun to work on and easily upgradeable. Feels great and Is solid.

Pros:
Good build
Sturdy
Accurate
Decent rof


Cons:
Hard trigger pull.
High-Cap Mag (I prefer mid-caps)
by R. RUSSELL Date Added: Saturday 19 September, 2009
For: G&G Full Metal SOC 16 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
This is an awesome gun! The G&G SOC 16 preforms beautifly as either a standard rifle or a DMR. on my SOC 16 the motor was a piece of junk and I had to replace it with an ICS turbo 3000. but don't let that deter you from getting this gun.

Pros:
Short
good FPS
all metal
stock is very well built and very strong
comes with high cap mag
good price

Cons:
crappy motor
by J. YEUNG Date Added: Monday 06 April, 2009
For: G&G Full Metal SOC 16 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
I bought this gun about 2 months ago and its pretty nice. I'm a beginner airsoft player but I've had experience with some other guns before. Using .25's the accuracy was pretty decent up to about 150ft, though like others have mentioned it could have been better with the stock tightbore, none the less the accuracy is quite a bit better than your average AEG. Rate of fire unlike everyone else said was decent; however, I was running an 8.4v battery so it's probably just me. I just thought that it would have a better ROF compared to other guns running 8.4v batteries but its pretty much the same. The gun itself, though "shortened" is still quite long, and its pretty heavy (good for realism, but hard to maneuver). There is one huge problem for this gun however, though it just might be mine. After playing for about 3 hours, the wires or something start to heat up so much that after I release the trigger while firing on auto, the gun will continue to shoot for about 3-4 seconds (quite a bit). While it was still under warranty I sent it back to Airsoft GI for repairs but the problem didn't change at all. I checked on airsoftretreat.com's forums and i was told that this problem was actually pretty common among G&G Soc16's so be forewarned.

Pros:
Nice accuracy
Good FPS
Front Rail System
Easy to disassemble
Aside from trigger issue, very reliable
Got some weight to it
Long barrel makes it a bit more accurate

Cons:
Trigger/Wiring issue pretty much ruined the gun for me (being a poor beginner I don't know if I can fix it, nor afford to have it fixed) HUGE PROBLEM. Heard it was present in other guns.
Got some weight to it
Long barrel makes it cubersome to move/aim quickly (though I understand the gun was not intended for CQB purposes)
by A. EDWARDS verified buyer Date Added: Tuesday 24 March, 2009
verified buyer
For: G&G Full Metal SOC 16 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
I just got into airsoft 3 months ago, and after doing much research I decided on this gun as my first. Everyone had excellent things to say about G&G, and I sure wasn't disappointed. Out of the box, it chrono'd 370fps with .20g bb's. The hopup adjustment is easy to access from the top, easy to get it dialed in on the fly and it stays dialed in. The stock 6.035 tight bore is decent, gave good groupings out to 120feet. ROF was very good with an Intellect 9.6v 3600mah large battery. The stock can hold 10.8v's, its very spacey.

I quickly upgraded to a Prometheus soft bucking/nub, and put a Systema M120 spring in. Switching to .25g bb's, accuracy was greatly increased. I went even further and put a EDgi 6.01 tight bore in and SCS nub. Accuracy is insane out to 150ft and it keeps people supressed from even further out.

This may not be the best starter gun for anyone, but if your looking for a great M14 platform, that will require zero to little maintenance that gives great performance stock, this is the gun for you.

Pros:
-Excellent trades
-Good metal parts, strong thick sturdy plastic body
-Excellent accuracy/range/ROF
-Gearbox is beefy. It also takes v2/v3 gears & v2/v3 piston/piston head.
-Pulls a System M120 great while retaining ROF
-built in fuse


Cons:
-Pretty heavy
-Only G&G and Classic Army mags are compatible. G&G mid-caps are pricey
-Flimsy fire selector switch. Mine hasn't broken yet though
-Very thin gearbox wiring. I snapped a wire in half taking the motor off, just be very careful not to get the wires pinched or pulled too hard.
by T. BROWNE Date Added: Friday 17 October, 2008
For: G&G Full Metal SOC 16 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
I've had this gun for quite some time. I think it's been almost a year now and I love it. I know most of this gun by heart and i'm in love with it. I am the only one on my team with this gun, but the rest of them have the full sized. They're all jellous of me. This one's lighter, shorter, easier to manuver, and has vertualy the same range, accuracy, and fps. We think that this is one of the best airsoft guns in existance. First of all, price. For something that has rock solid internals, easy to find replacements, and real steal and polmer finishing, you can't beat it. Nothing even comes close. Second, performance. This gun can hit anything. We play on a hill that has a 250 yard "bowl" in the top. with this thing, i've been able to pick people off all they way on the other side. That's two and a half football fields people!!! Of course it wasn't a direct shot and i kinda had to lob them in, but still... that's some range. It also has a crazy ROF w/ a large, 4200 mah 9.6v battery. besides what some people think, the type of battery that you use doesnt at all effect the FPS. I don't know where people come up w/ these crazy ideas, but they're not true. mah is milliamps. a basic way to determine which battery is better is by the mah. 1mah roughly=1 shot. anyways, i go through the 470 round mag in about 7-9 seconds of straight firing. Maybe even a little less.

Pros:
Amazing external finish.
Full metal and heavy polmers, could be seen as a con if you don't like having a heavy gun. Personaly, i like the weight. It makes me feel comfortable that i have something reliable in my hands and not some light, cheap piece of crap.
ROF/FPS
High-cap mag holds 470
Giant battery space i have to put a sock in behind my 9.6 4200 mah battery to keep it from moving around!!!
Crisp trigger pull is extremely nice.


Cons:
Can't remove orange tip.
Mine came w/ the forward iron sight bent slightly to the left, but others came normal so it was just a small defect.
Overall, it's a Fantastic weapon
by J. ARVAY verified buyer Date Added: Sunday 27 July, 2008
verified buyer
For: G&G Full Metal SOC 16 AEG Airsoft Gun
Product Information:
Played a match with this yesterday in woodlands, and in a relatively close quarters place.
It performed well in both, and very well in the cqc, where the average distance was maybe about 50 ft. Definately not a full-sized rifle, and pretty easy to wield, and I don't think its 12-14 lbs.... I was just fine lugging it around the whole day, its nothing. I would recommend a reflex site, it'll make aiming a lot easier.

Pros:
-The ROF is insane. It goes through bb's so fast that I used both of my high-caps (470 rnds) in about an hour. This was firing just as fast as extremely upgraded guns, except this was running off an 8.4v.
-Deadly accurate, although I couldn't really see it because my goggles were all fogged....
-easy to shoulder, does not weigh that much.
-Great gun for woodlands/outside scenarios, but I would not try using this indoors where the ranges are about 20 ft.

Cons:
-If you do suppressive fire at all in games, you're going to need at least 1000 rounds, and then a bag of BB's in case you run out.
by P. FRANK verified buyer Date Added: Sunday 20 July, 2008
verified buyer
For: G&G Full Metal SOC 16 AEG Airsoft Gun
I picked this gun up looking for a good alternative to CA or TM guns (which tend to go for much higher prices) and I ended up getting a beast of a gun. I use .25g bbs with a 4200mah Intellect battery and with those this gun just shreds through brush and branches that would stop or deflect my other AEGs, making this gun great for woodland combat.

Pros:
-Durability: I play rough. This thing has been kicked, dropped, stepped on, shot, and generally abused and still works great.
-Firepower: Often I use this gun in a support role due to it's great range, power, and rof. Stick on a scope and it could be a sniper with it's accuracy.
-Fear Factor: This gun hurts. A lot. It has a very distinctive sound and many have told me that they just take cover when they hear this beast roar. Also, though not having anything relevant to do with the gun, the bolt which exposes the hop-up makes a very satisfying cocking sound.
Cons:
-Weight: Not necessarily and con depending on your preferences, but this gun does weigh in somewhere between 12-14 pound fully loaded. That kind of weight can tire you out after a few hours of lugging it around, not to mention mess with your aim. Carrying strap would be recommended as it does have fixtures for such.
-Clip: Full metal and 470 rounds yes, but not the greatest quality. Not to much to complain about as I've had minimal problems with it, but sometimes the high rof is too much for the clip to keep up with.
-Length: Though it is a shortened version of the M14, it is still a rifle. Once again, not necessarily a con, but don't expect to move it quickly in and out of cover, and don't even think about CQC with this thing.

I would recommend buying this (not the package version) and getting a higher end battery. It is very worth the trouble.
by C. BENSON Date Added: Sunday 27 April, 2008
For: G&G Full Metal SOC 16 AEG Airsoft Gun
I got this gun on the 24th of April 2008 and i must say anyone i'm very impressed with the rof, accuracy,and overall performance of the gun. For $260 this gun is a steal. the package that it comes in is a very good deal, it would have cost me at least $50 to get the package otherwise. I thought it would come with a rather small assortment of bbs but it came with 4,000 .2s. =) hope this helps!
by D. PALMER Date Added: Wednesday 26 March, 2008
For: G&G Full Metal SOC 16 AEG Airsoft Gun
This gun doesnt include a battery, unless you buy the starter package of this, but hey its only $5 more
by H. SANE Date Added: Monday 04 February, 2008
For: G&G Full Metal SOC 16 AEG Airsoft Gun
does this gun come with a battery.thanks to anyone that helps
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back Write Review

Out of Stock

Copyright © 2014 Airsoft GI
Airsoft GI CAGE CODE   See Airsoft GI Reviews at Bizrate.com
Disclaimer: All airsoft guns are required to have the tip (1/4 inch) of the barrel permanently colored in blaze orange. No person may openly display or expose any imitation firearm (replica firearm), in a public place. The term "public place" means an area open to the public or exposed to public view and includes streets, sidewalks, bridges, alleys, plazas, parks, driveways, parking lots, automobiles, whether moving or not, and buildings open to the general public, including those that serve food or drink, or provide entertainment, and the doorways and entrances to buildings or dwellings and the grounds enclosing them.
Any person who changes, alters, removes, or obliterates any coloration or markings that are required for by any applicable state or federal law or regulation, for any imitation firearm (replica firearm), or device in any way that makes the imitation firearm (replica firearm) or device look more like a firearm is guilty of violating the state or federal law.
By accessing the Site, you certify that you are older than 18 years of age or the age of majority where you live, whichever is older; that you are the owner of any credit card used to purchase on items on the Site; that you are familiar with all local laws in your area affecting your legal right to access airsoft products; that any products you buy are for your own private enjoyment and that you will NEVER share these products with a minor in ANY WAY.

DB0 Current Parse Time: 0.602 s with 24 queries